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Federal and State Declarations

On March 13, 2020, President Trump issued a nationwide Emergency Declaration (EM-3459).
The emergency declaration does not change measures authorized under other federal statutes and
HHS remains the lead federal agency directing the federal response to COVID-19. FEMA
actions will be in support of HHS and in coordination with state, tribal and territorial
governments.

Eligible emergency protective measures taken at the direction or guidance of public health
officials in response to this emergency, and not supported by the authorities of another federal
agency, will be reimbursed strictly under the FEMA Public Assistance program. FEMA
assistance will be provided at a 75% Federal cost share. Reimbursable activities typically include
emergency protective measures such as the activation of State Emergency Operations Centers,
National Guard costs, law enforcement and other measures necessary to protect public health and
safety.

The total amount of assistance provided for in a single emergency may not exceed $5 million
without the President notifying Congress. The Governor must submit a request through the
FEMA Regional Administrator within 30 days of the incident requesting supplemental
assistance.

The Emergency Declaration only provides Public Assistance. It does not include Individual
Assistance.

On March 23, 2020, FEMA sent Louisiana $31,025,826.33 as its 75% share of Louisiana’s first
$41,367,768.44 spent under the Emergency Declaration.

On March 24, 2020, President Trump issued a Disaster Declaration for Louisiana (DR-4484).
The Disaster Declaration is statewide. It only includes Individual Assistance limited to the Crisis
Counseling Program and Public Assistance limited to Emergency protective measures (Category
B) at a 75% federal share. The IA activation is the same as the one issued to New York. The
additional 1A categories requested by the Governor March 24, 2020, are currently under review.

Key Disaster Numbers

The State of Louisiana is only testing individuals admitted to a hospital or other high risk. As of
noon on Wednesday, April 8, 2020, there were 17,030 positive cases in 63 of 64 parishes out
of 81,406 (4,766 State and 76,640 privately) tested and 652 deaths®. These numbers are
update at noon on http://Idh.la.gov/Coronavirus/.

The curve appears to be flattening. A large percentage of the increases in positive cases and
deaths over the last week have been the result of delays in reporting. LDH’s computer models
have consistently over-estimated positives, hospitalization, and ventilation needs. Their 4 day
projections have been off by significant factors.

1. Louisiana’s death count includes everyone who dies and tested positive for coronavirus
regardless of the actual cause of death.
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Coronavirus Information from Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Information on the virus and how to protect yourself is available at
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html

Information and Assistance from Louisiana Department of Health (LDH)
Louisiana-centered information on the virus is available at http://Idh.la.gov/coronavirus/

For individuals in Louisiana, 211 is the single access point for information and assistance. LDH
moved their information helpline to 211 after the regular hotline at 1-855-523-2652 was
overwhelmed.

e Call 211.
e Text LACOVID to 898-211
e orvisit www.LA211Help.org or https://louisianaassocl.godaddysites.com/

Coronavirus Testing

Frequently Asked Questions about COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests

In response to questions from labs, manufacturers, health care providers, and others, FDA has
generated FAQs and posted them on our website for all who are involved in test development for
COVID-19s. FDA updates these FAQs on a rolling basis, often daily as issues arise. Your
constituents can access these FAQs at: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/emergency-
situations-medical-devices/fags-diagnostic-testing-sars-cov-2.

Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests

If someone needs additional information for completing the EUA template, would like to know
how to submit Pre-EUA/EUA submissions to FDA, or wishes to consider an alternative
specimen type, they may contact the Division of Microbiology Devices at (301) 348-1778 or
email CDRH-EUA-Templates@fda.hhs.gov. Please note that FDA is unable to provide
information on the status of any individual submissions (this is generally confidential
commercial information) and FDA would encourage congressional offices to reach out to
specific developers for the status of any pending product submissions.

State Testing
Only individuals who are hospitalized due to severe symptoms of the virus or have other high
risk factors are being tested by the State upon a referral from the hospital.

Requesting a Private Test

Individuals may obtain a private test from LabCorp or a Drive through Location with a physician
referral. You should contact your primary care physician to request a test if you are showing
symptoms. People who do not have a primary care provider can call 211 or texting LACOVID
to 898-211 and they will be referred to a nearby clinic. As a last resort, they may contact the
Louisiana Department of Health hotline at 1-855-523-2652.

Cost and Insurance Coverage of Testing

On March 10, 2020, Vice President Pence announced that the major health insurers as well as
Medicaid and Medicare will cover all copays and expenses for coronavirus testing and treatment
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with a guarantee of no out-of-pocket, surprise billing. This is estimated to cover approximately
240 million Americans.

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response
Act.” It requires COVID-19 testing and the associated medical visit to be 100% covered by
private health plans, Medicare Advantage plans, Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, and TRICARE. It
also provides funding to Indian Health Service to cover testing. The law bans prior authorization
or other medical management requirements before testing.

On March 27, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). It also requires all testing for COVID-19 be covered by
private insurance plans, with free coverage of a vaccine within 15 days for COVID-19 when
such a vaccine is available.

How Drive Through Will Work and Where Are They Located

Testing sites are generally run by private groups. Site locations and operations are constantly
changing. To find the most up-to-date information on testing sites, one may visits
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18vys3Y50wxbxnd5Sw0yB2r4LcfOXH1ERWBayl2Zwl
MU/edit#gid=80312056

On April 7, 2020, the State decided to move the New Orleans site on April 11, to St. Charles
Parish after the City of New Orleans informed the state that it no longer wished to continue the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and State run site past April 10.

Coronavirus Related Paid Leave
On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response
Act,” which sets up a paid sick leave requirement for employers with fewer than 500
employees to give to their employees who:

e have the virus;

e are in quarantine or caring for someone in quarantine;

e or are caring for a child under 18 whose school is closed.

Full-time workers are eligible for 80 hours of paid sick leave, and part-time workers receive time
equal to the average number of hours they work in a given two-week period.

The pay is capped at $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggreqgate for employees with the virus or in
guarantine.

Pay is capped at $200 per day and $2,000 in the aggregate for employees caring for someone in
quarantine or for a child whose school closed. The required sick leave and family leave are
paired with a refundable payroll tax credit to cover these amounts, and the requirement ends
December 31.

For those employees taking leave beyond the 10 day paid days provided above_to take care of
a child under 18 whose school or day care facility is closed, the law also amends the Family
Medical Leave Act (FMLA) to set up a temporary emergency paid leave program through
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December 31. It requires private employers with fewer than 500 workers and government
employers to provide employees up to 12 workweeks of leave, for those who have worked at
least 30 days. Under the CARES Act, employees who were laid off by an employer after March
1, 2020 and rehired may be eligible for paid leave if they were employed for at least 30 calendar
days before being laid off.

The first 10 days may be unpaid but generally would be covered by the emergency sick leave
requirement, or the employee could use vacation leave or other eligible paid leave for these

days.

For the rest of the leave, employees would be entitled to at least two-thirds of their reqular
pay, up to $200 per day and $10,000 total. Employers will be fully reimbursed for these
amounts.

Employers with fewer than 25 employees do not have to reinstate an employee who takes leave
if the position no longer exists and the employer tried to put the person in a similar position.
Allows the Labor Department to exempt small businesses with fewer than 50 employees from
this new leave requirement if it would put them in jeopardy.

The law also establishes comparable sick leave and family leave income tax credits for self-
employed workers, to cover the same coronavirus-related circumstances, days of leave, and wage
amounts as the employer credits. The self-employed tax credits are also 100% refundable.

Recovery Tax Rebate

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). Itincludes a recovery tax rebate which is an advance on a
refundable tax credit on your 2020 tax return that will be due in 2021. The eligible income
amount is based on the 2019 tax return or the 2018 tax return if the individual has not yet
filed a return in 2020. 1f someone has not filed a 2018 or 2019 tax return, they may do so at
online from home using the IRS Free file program at https://www.irs.gov/filing/free-file-do-
your-federal-taxes-for-free.

Social Security beneficiaries who are not typically required to file tax returns will not need
to file an abbreviated tax return to receive an Economic Impact Payment. Instead, payments will
be automatically deposited into their bank accounts or by paper check, just as they would
normally receive their benefits. The IRS will use the information on the Form SSA-1099 and
Form RRB-1099 to generate $1,200 Economic Impact Payments to Social Security recipients
who did not file tax returns in 2018 or 2019.

All U.S. residents with adjusted gross income under $75,000 ($112,500 for head of household
and $150,000 married), who are not the dependent of another taxpayer and have a work-eligible
Social Security Number, are eligible for the full $1,200 ($2,400 married) rebate. They are also
eligible for an additional $500 per child under 17 years of age.

Payment will be made in the form of a one-time direct deposit or check.

For higher income earners, the rebate is reduced by $5 for each $100 exceeding the phase-out
threshold. Starting at $75,000 for individuals, $112,500 for head of household, and $150,000 for
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married couples, the amount of the rebate gradually drops to zero for incomes exceeding $99,000
per year for individuals, $146,500 for head of household filers, and $198,000 for joint filers.

If your income is lower in 2020 than in 2019, any additional credit you are eligible for will be
refunded or reduce your tax liability when you file your 2020 tax return next year.

With the exception of past due child support payments, the bill temporarily turns off all other
administrative offsets. As a result, Treasury will not reduce the rebate checks for any
outstanding federal or state debts except state-reported delinquent child support.

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (Food Stamps) Program (SNAP)

Eligible households may qualify for a debit card which provides an allowance to supplement the
amount they spend on food. Additional information on eligibility may be found at
http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/snap-eligibility.

If someone is not already a SNAP recipient and have a food need, they may apply for benefits
online. There’s no need to visit a Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS)
office. They can apply online, by mail, or by fax. For more information,

text GETSNAP (no spaces) to 898211

visit the DCFS website at www.dcfs.la.gov/getSNAP

email LAHelpU.DCFS@la.gov, or

call 1-888-LA-HELP-U (1-888-524-3578) Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response
Act.” It allows the Secretary of Agriculture to approve state plans to provide additional,
temporary SNAP benefits to families with eligible children, when their schools close for at least
five days in a row during a public health emergency. The amount will be based on the
reimbursement value for free or reduced-price meals for each eligible child in the household.
The Governor has not announced that he has requested a waiver.

H.R. 6201 also waives federal SNAP work requirements temporarily but maintains work training
program requirements. Provides that the three-month SNAP participation limit for people who
do not satisfy the work requirement will restart one month after the declared pandemic
emergency has been lifted.

The USDA granted Louisiana a waiver from the mandatory in-person interview of individuals
with new or renewal applications.

Additional information regarding the impact of the coronavirus on programs offered by the
DCFS can be found at http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/coronavirus.

The USDA is looking at allowing States to expand SNAP to the maximum benefit for everyone
eligible.

The Governor has not requested Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (D-SNAP)
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Unemployment Assistance

Individuals who are unemployed through no fault of their own may apply for regular
unemployment assistance at https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx or by
calling (866) 783-5567. The maximum state benefit is $247 a week.

The Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) has decided that it will not pay claims to those
who qualify as a result of the expanded eligibility found in the CARES Act as well as the
$600/week Pandemic Unemployment benefit included in the CARES Act, until the federal
government provides funding first. These applicants will receive a $0 award letter; however,
LWC will make back payments based on the day they file.

On April 7, 2020, Louisiana received the Pandemic Unemployment funding. On April 8, twelve
days after the CARES Act passed, LWC began formatting the computer system to accept and
process Pandemic Unemployment claims. The Governor ordered that the first payments not go
out until Monday, April 13.

At this time, LWC has no concerns regarding the solvency of the State Unemployment Trust
Fund despite the large increase in claims.

LWC is aware of issues with username and password. They say to try again. If someone is still
having difficulty, please email HIRE@Iwc.la.gov and provide name, phone and last 4 of your
SSN. Call Center hours are 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., 7 days a week.

Due to the high number of claims being filed, LWC advises filing between 10:00 pm and 4:00
am.

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). It includes a Pandemic Unemployment Assistance
provision that provides:

e Immediate unemployment without the customary one-week waiting period required
under regular unemployment and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;

e An additional $600 per week on top of the regular state unemployment amount;

e Provides an additional 13 weeks of benefits to those who remain unemployed after state
unemployment benefits are no longer available;

e Extends eligibility for unemployment to self-employed, independent contractors, and
those with limited work history;

e Additional qualifications for unemployment which include:

o the individual has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or is experiencing symptoms of
COVID-19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis;

o amember of the individual’s household has been diagnosed with COVID-19;

o the individual is providing care for a family member diagnosed with COVID-19;
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o aperson in the household is unable to attend school or another facility that is closed
as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency;

o the individual is unable to reach the place of employment because of a quarantine
imposed as a direct result of a COVID-19 outbreak or has been advised by a health
care provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19;

o the individual was scheduled to begin employment and is no longer employed or is
unable to reach the job as a direct result of a COVID-19 outbreak;

o the individual has become the breadwinner or major support for a household because
the head of the household has died as a direct result of COVID-19;

o the individual must quit their job as a direct result of COVID-19;
o the individual’s place of employment is closed as a direct result of COVID-19; or

o the individual is self-employed, is seeking part-time employment, does not have
sufficient work history, or otherwise would not qualify for regular unemployment
under state or federal law and becomes unemployed or cannot find work.

The assistance is limited to 39 weeks and will begin on January 27, 2020 and end December
2020, as long as the covered individual’s unemployment, partial unemployment, or inability to
work caused by COVID-19 continues.

Additional information for workers and employers regarding the impact of the coronavirus on
programs offered by the Louisiana Workforce Commission can be found at
http://www.laworks.net/PublicRelations/COVID_19_Information.asp

Unemployment insurance payments count as income. Unemployment benefits are counted as
unearned income for federal tax purposes, and the additional $600 in weekly unemployment
insurance payments provided by the CARES Act count toward eligibility for means-tested
benefits (other than Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program).

The U.S. Department of Labor has provide a summary of Key Unemployment Insurance (Ul)
Provisions and Guidance Regarding Temporary Emergency State Staffing Flexibility to the ETA
Advisory database at https://wdr.doleta.gov/directives/corr_doc.cfm?DOCN=3390.

Women, Infants, and Children (WIC)

The USDA is willing to waive the physical, in-person screening of WIC recipients upon the
recipient and approval of a request from the Governor. They are providing the States templates
to use to request this waiver and other potential waivers that would streamline the WIC process.
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Retirement Accounts Rule Changes
On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law:

e Waives the 10 percent early withdrawal penalty for any “coronavirus-related distribution”
up to $100,000; income from the distribution will be taxed over three years, beginning on
the date the distribution was received. Individuals may repay the distribution over three
years without triggering that year’s cap on contributions.

A “coronavirus related distribution” means any distribution from an eligible retirement
made on or after January 1, 2020 and before December 31, 2020; and made to an
individual diagnosed with the virus (by a CDC-approved test), or whose spouse or
dependent is diagnosed with the virus; who experiences adverse financial consequences
as a result of quarantine, furlough, or layoff; who experiences a reduction in hours or
inability to work due to lack of childcare; or because of other factors determined by the
Secretary of Treasury.

e Provides for an increase in plan loan limits from $50,000 to $100,000. This increase will
not be treated as a qualified distribution and delays repayment for loans due between
enactment and December 31, 2020 for one year.

e Temporarily waives the required minimum distribution rules for certain retirement plans
and accounts, including 403 (a) and 403 (b) defined contribution plans, 457 (b) defined
contribution plans (if the plan is maintained by a 457 (e)(1)(A) employer), and individual
retirement plans.

Charitable Contributions Income Deductions

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law expands the deductibility of charitable
contributions.

Eligible taxpayers can deduct up to $300 of cash charitable contributions beginning in 2019. This
includes taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions.

For tax year 2020, the limitations on charitable contributions for individuals who itemize their
contributions is suspended.

Assistance for College Students

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law provides a tax-free student loan repayment
benefit to employees. The provision applies to any student loan payments made by an employer
on behalf of an employee after date of enactment and before January 1, 2021.
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For students who are unable to complete a semester because of COVID-19, the law provides:
e The student is not required to repay associated portions of their Pell grants or other loan
assistance;

e The semester that the student failed to complete will not count toward the student’s
period of enrollment for purposes of lifetime subsidized loan eligibility;

e The semester that the student failed to complete will not count toward the student’s
lifetime Pell grant eligibility;

e The student’s grades associated with those credits will not be considered when
determining whether he or she satisfies the academic requirements to qualify for Pell
grants or student loans.

Federal student loan payments are suspended through September 30, 2020. During the
suspension period, interest shall not accrue. For purposes of federal loan forgiveness programs,
loan rehabilitation programs, and reporting to consumer reporting agencies, the Department of
Education will treat each month for which loan payments were suspended as if the borrower had
made payments. During the suspension period, all involuntary collection, including wage
garnishment and reduction of tax refunds, is also suspended.

Provisions related to the Corporation for National and Community Service

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law provides that participants serving in the National
Service Corps programs whose service is limited or suspended because of COVID-19 shall be
allowed to accrue hours that will count toward the total number of hours needed for that
individual’s educational award.

The Corporation for National and Community Service may extend the term of service for up to
one year after the national emergency and may waive applicable age limits to allow individuals
to return to service after the emergency ends. However, in no case shall the maximum age
exceed 26 years of age.

Teach Grant Recipients

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). Under the law, the U.S. Department of Education is
authorized to modify the categories of circumstances under which teachers who are recipients of
TEACH Grants are excused from fulfilling service obligations. Part-time and/or temporarily
interrupted teaching service shall be considered full-time and shall be deemed to fulfill TEACH
Grant obligations. The requirements that years of service be consecutive for teacher loan
forgiveness are waived if teaching service is interrupted by the COVID-19 emergency and the
teacher resumes services and completes a total of 5 years of service.

General Financial Issues

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has provided the check list below to help
guide people through some of the financial decisions they will need to make as soon as possible
following a natural disaster:
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o Ask for a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one available. It will help you
verify your coverage.

o A disaster does not stop your responsibility to pay your mortgage. So you should contact
your mortgage servicer and tell them about your situation.

o If you don’t have a monthly mortgage statement or coupon book with you, search the
Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems (MERS) or call them toll-free at (888) 679-
6377 to find the company that services your mortgage.

o Take a look at your income and savings and determine how much money you have
available to pay bills and creditors.

o If your income is interrupted and you don’t think you will be able to pay your credit cards
or other loans, be sure to contact your lenders as soon as possible. Explain your situation
and when you think you will be able to resume normal payments. The important thing is
to make the calls before your next payments are due.

o If you are in a presidentially declared disaster area, you may qualify for disaster
assistance. Check with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for more
information.

o Take a look at your bills and set priorities. Your mortgage, rent, and insurance payments
should stay high on your list.

Mortgage Assistance

Unable to Afford Mortgage

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) notes that a disaster does not stop your
responsibility to pay your mortgage. You should contact your mortgage servicer and tell them
about your situation. If you don’t have a monthly mortgage statement or coupon book with you,
search the Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems (MERS) or call them toll-free at (888) 679-
6377 to find the company that services your mortgage.

Assistance with Your Mortgage Company

People needing assistance with an issue involving their mortgage company should contact a
HUD Approved Housing Counselor Program by calling (800) 569-4287 or viewing a list of
counselors at

www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sth/hcc/hes.cfm?&webL istAction=search&searchstate=L A

Federally-Backed Mortgages

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law prohibits foreclosures on all federally-backed
mortgage loans for a 60-day period beginning on March 18, 2020 and provides up to 180 days of
forbearance for borrowers of a federally backed mortgage loan who have experienced a financial
hardship related to COVID-19. During this time only regularly scheduled interest, fees, or
penalties, as if the borrower made the payment on time, will accrue. Federally-backed
mortgages include mortgages insured by the FHA, insured under section 255 of the National
Housing Act, guaranteed under section 184 or 184A of the Housing and Community
Development Act of 1992, guaranteed or insured by the VA; made, guaranteed, or insured by the
USDA,; or purchased or securitized by Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae. The authority provided under
this section terminates on the earlier of the termination date of the national emergency
concerning the coronavirus or December 31, 2020.
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Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Backed Mortgages

If you have an FHA backed mortgage and your home or your ability to make your mortgage
payments were harmed by the disaster, you may qualify for a 90 day Foreclosure Moratorium
or a Forbearance Plan on your monthly payments. You must contact your mortgage
company to discuss your options. If you are not satisfied with your lender’s response, you
may call a HUD-approved counseling agency toll free at (800) 569-4287 or contact HUD's
National Servicing Center.

Mortgages Backed by Fannie Mae

Servicers of Fannie Mae mortgages may temporarily suspend or reduce your mortgage
payments for up to ninety days if a natural disaster has adversely affected the value or
habitability of your home or if the disaster has temporarily impacted your ability to make
payments. The servicer may offer forbearance for up to six months, which may be extended
for an additional six months if you were current or ninety days or less delinquent when the
disaster occurred. You should reach out to your servicer as soon as possible for assistance.
You can also call Fannie Mae directly at 1-800-2FANNIE.

Mortgages Backed by Freddie Mac

Servicers of Freddie Mac mortgages may:

o Offer a Forbearance on your mortgage payment for up to one year

o Suspended foreclosure for up to one year

o Waive assessments of penalties or late fees

o Not report forbearance or delinquencies caused by the disaster to the nation's credit
bureaus.

You should contact your mortgage company to request assistance.

Rural Development Single-Family Housing Loan Borrowers

Rural Development offers the following servicing options to help families who experience

financial problems after a disaster:

o Moratoriums -- a temporary period where no payment is required -- for up to 180 days for
borrowers who have lost employment, sustained severe property damage or have
significant medical expenses.

o Reamortization -- rescheduling loan payments to determine a new monthly payment
amount -- if needed following a moratorium or to resolve an account delinquency.

To request loan servicing assistance, borrowers should contact the Centralized Servicing
Center at:

USDA Rural Development Centralized Servicing Center
Attn.: Borrower Assistance Branch, Special Assistance Section
Post Office Box 66889

St. Louis, MO 63166

Phone: (800) 414-1226

TDD: (800) 438-1832
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e Veterans Administration and Loans
Veterans in need of financial counseling, veterans with VA backed mortgages, and veterans
interested in a VA guaranteed loan to help with disaster losses may contact a VA Loan
Technician at 1-877-827-3702.

National Flood Insurance Premium (NFIP) Grace Period Extension

There is typically a 30-day grace period to renew National Flood Insurance Program policies to
avoid a lapse in coverage. However, due to the widespread economic disruption arising from
this pandemic, FEMA is extending the grace period to 120 days for polices with an expiration
date between February 13, 2020 and June 15, 2020. If a policyholder receives an underpayment
notice dated between February 13, 2020, and June 15, 2020, then the NFIP insurer must receive
the additional premium amount requested within 120 days of the date of the notice.

Policyholders who need additional time to pay their premiums, beyond the 120-day extension,
should contact their agent or insurer to inquire about other options the insurer may offer for
premium payment.

Temporary Moratorium on Eviction from Federally-Backed Rental Properties

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law restricts landlords for 120 days beginning on the
date of the legislation from initiating legal action to recover possession of a rental unit or charge
fees, penalties, or other charges to tenants related to nonpayment of rent if the landlord’s
mortgage on that property is insured, guaranteed, supplemented, protected, or assisted in any
way by HUD, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the rural housing voucher program, or the Violence
Against Women Act of 1994.

Mass Treatment Facility at Morial Convention Center

In anticipation of the hospitals in New Orleans reaching capacity the first of April, on March 25,
the State began converting the Morial Convention Center into a mass treatment facility for
coronavirus patients. Due to logistical and contract concerns, as similar plan to use hotels was
not selected.

Quarantine Shelters

Individuals who need to be quarantined but do not require hospitalization and do not have a safe
place to stay or live with vulnerable individuals will be sent to Quarantine Shelters run by the
State. Placement is made by the State. Individuals cannot just show up. LDH is in the process
of identifying additional locations as needed. The shelters will be funded by FEMA.

Bayou Segnette State Park  Lake Bistineau State Park ~ Chicot State Park
7777 Westbank Expy. 103 State Park Rd. 3469 Chicot Park Rd.
Westwego, LA 70094 Doyline, LA 71023 Ville Platte, LA 70586

FEMA Individual Assistance (I1A) — Limited to Crisis Counseling Assistance

At this time, there is no FEMA Individual Assistance. On March 24, 2020, the Governor
submitted a request for a Disaster Declaration which includes Individual Assistance. In addition
to the more familiar repair and personal property assistance, FEMA offers what is termed “Other
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Needs Assistance” that could potential help coronavirus victims. The maximum amount of other
needs assistance is limited to $35,500 during Fiscal Year 2020; however, some forms have
individual limits.

FEMA 1A Other Needs Assistance
Other Needs Assistance provides grants for uninsured, disaster-related necessary expenses
and serious needs. Assistance includes:

e Medical and dental expenses (Requested by the Governor)

e Funeral and burial costs (Requested by the Governor)

e Repair, cleaning, or replacement of:

o Clothing

o Household items (room furnishings, appliances)

o Specialized tools or protective clothing and equipment required for your job
o Necessary educational materials (computers, school books, supplies)

e Clean-up items (wet/dry vacuum, air purifier, dehumidifier)

e Fuel for primary heat source (heating oil, gas)

e Repairing or replacing vehicles damaged by the disaster, or providing for public
transportation or other transportation costs

e Moving and storage expenses related to the disaster (including storage or the return of
property to a pre-disaster home)

e Other necessary expenses or serious needs (for example, towing, or setup or
connecting essential utilities for a housing unit not provided by FEMA) (Requested
by the Governor)

e The cost of a National Flood Insurance Program group flood insurance policy to meet
the flood insurance requirements

Other Services Available When FEMA Individual Assistance Is Available

Mass Care and Emergency Assistance (MC/EA)

Mass Care is composed of seven services known as activities: sheltering; feeding;
distribution of emergency supplies; support for individuals with disabilities and others
with access and functional needs; reunification services for adults and children; support
for household pets, service, and assistance animals; and mass evacuee support. In
addition to the seven aforementioned activities, MC/EA also supports the National Mass
Care Exercise (NMCE) training program and offers partnerships through the following
programs: Blue Roof Program and Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA).

Crisis Counseling Assistance and Training Program (CCP) (Requested by the
Governor on March 24, Granted by President on March 24, 2020)

CCP provides eligible STTLs governments, and non-governmental organizations with
supplemental funding to assist disaster-impacted individuals and communities in
recovering from the major disasters through the provision of community-based outreach
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and psycho-educational services. The goal is to aid survivors in recovering from the
adverse reactions to disasters and to begin to rebuild their lives.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) (Requested by the Governor on March
24)

DUA provides unemployment benefits and re-employment assistance services to eligible
survivors affected by a Presidentially-declared major disaster. These services are under
the responsibility of the U.S. Department of Labor and administered by the state,
territorial, tribal, and local government emergency management officials of the affected
area(s). DUA is only available to those eligible survivors who are not eligible for regular
state unemployment insurance (Ul). Individuals who are unable to work as a result of the
disaster may register for disaster unemployment assistance by calling (866) 783-5567 or
online at https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx.

Disaster Legal Services (DLS)

DLS provides legal aid to survivors affected by a Presidentially-declared major disaster
through an agreement with the Young Lawyers Division (YLD) of the American Bar
Association. DLS is put into effect during Presidentially-declared disasters and is
available to survivors who qualify as low-income.

Disaster Case Management (DCM) (Requested by the Governor on March 24)
DCM is a time-limited process that promotes partnership between a case manager and a
disaster survivor in order to assess and address a survivor’s verified disaster-caused
unmet needs through a disaster recovery plan. This disaster recovery plan includes
resources, decision-making priorities, providing guidance and tools to assist disaster
survivors.

Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (Food Stamps) Program (D-SNAP)
D-SNAP allows households not normally eligible for SNAP to qualify as a result of their
disaster-related expenses, such as loss of income, damage to property, relocation
expenses, and, in some cases, loss of food due to power outages. This is an optional
program left to the discretion of the Governor to participate. For more information, one
may call the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCSF) at 1-888-
524-3578.

Registration will likely be available at https://dsnap.dcfs.la.gov/ or calling 1-888-524-
3578

To receive DSNAP benefits, you will need to provide:

Name, Social Security Number and Date of Birth for each household member
Current address and parish of household

Monthly income for each household member

All liquid assets for each household member (cash on hand, checking, savings)

D-SNAP benefits are issued for one month, but they can be used for up to 365 days.
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Community Development Block Grant for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR)
Congress may provide CDBG-DR funding should the damages be severe. CDBG-DR funding is
not guaranteed and is often passed months after a disaster.

Duplication of Benefits (DOB)

When the federal government first became involved in providing disaster assistance in the 60s
and 70s, it relied on loans and added grants to assist those that could not qualify a loan or a loan
large enough to meet all of their needs. To ensure no one received more in assistance than their
actual losses, DOB rules were put in place that say before an agency can provide federal funds to
a disaster victim, they must first determine their loss and subtract any assistance they have
already received from insurance, charities, federal and state grants and loans, or other sources.

The DOB rules apply separately to each form of assistance (i.e. repairs, contents, travel, rental
assistance, etc.). For example, assistance received for contents and rental assistance, do not
count towards assistance one would receive for repairs.

In October 2018, after Senator Cassidy blocked a vote unless a DOB repeal was included in the
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization / Disaster Recovery Reform Act of
2018 bill, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law a temporary repeal of the DOB
rule. The repeal covers a DOB between SBA loans and Community Development Block Grant
for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funds for disasters declared between January 1, 2016 and
December 31, 2021. The full HUD rule implementing the repeal can be found at
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/Main/documents/6169-N-01_Main_DOB_Notice.pdf.
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Assistance for Businesses

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL)
Assistance (Available)

The Small Business Administration has separate authority to declare a disaster even when FEMA
does not declare one. The Governor submitted a request to the SBA on March 18, 2020 covering
Jefferson and Orleans Parishes and later submitted an amended request for the whole state. The
SBA approved the request for all parishes on March 19, 2020. The disaster allowed Economic
Injury Disaster Loans. The deadline to apply is December 21, 2020.

The SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) offer up to $2 million in assistance and can
provide vital economic support to small businesses to help overcome the temporary loss of
revenue they are experiencing. These loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts
payable and other bills that can’t be paid because of the disaster’s impact. The SBA offers loans
with long-term repayments in order to keep payments affordable, up to a maximum of 30 years.
The terms are determined on a case-by-case basis, based upon each borrower’s ability to repay.

Businesses needing assistance with SBA Disaster Assistance Loans may contact the SBA
Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center. Business may visit an SBA Business Recovery
Center, if offered for personalized help.

Interest Rates are 3.750% for Business & Small Ag Coops and 2.750% for Non-Profits.

An application may be declined for the following reasons: lack of repayment ability, lack of
repayment ability based on forecast, unsatisfactory history on an existing or previous SBA loan,
unsatisfactory history on a Federal obligation, unsatisfactory credit history, unsatisfactory debt
payment history (other than a credit bureau), and economic injury is not substantiated. An
application may be withdrawn when requested information is not furnished within the allowed
timeframe.

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law allows EIDL loans made between January 31,
2020 and the date Paycheck Protection Program loans to be refinanced as part of a paycheck
protection loan. The law allow allows the deferment interest for 4 years.

Due to the high number of applications, the SBA is estimating it will take 2-3 weeks to process
an application. Applications are processed on a first in, first processed basis and is not expedited
applications. Payments should go out within 5 days of approval.

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) Grant

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law establishes an emergency grant to allow small
business and nonprofits that apply for an EIDL loan to request an advance on that loan, of up to
$10,000, which the SBA must distribute within 3 days. EIDLs taken out between January 31,
2020, and December 31, 2020, are eligible.
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The following entities are eligible:

e small businesses with fewer than 500 employees including sole proprietors and
independent contractors;

e private nonprofit organizations, and small agricultural cooperatives;

e cooperatives or ESOPs with fewer than 500 employees; and,

o tribal businesses described in section 31(b)(2)(C) of the Small Business Act with no more
than 500 employees.

There is no requirement to repay an advance, even if denied a loan.

The grant may be used to:

provide paid sick leave to employees;

maintain payroll;

address increased costs to obtain materials, and rent and mortgage payments; and,
repay obligations unmet due to revenue loss.

The advance amount will be reduced from the loan forgiveness amount for recipients who
transfers into, or is approved for, the loan program under section 7(a), the Paycheck Protection

Program.

Paycheck Protection Program under SBA Section 7(a)

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law authorizes the SBA to provide a new category of
7(a) loans. These loans of up to $10 million are 100% federally guaranteed with zero-fees.

Eligible Applicants:

Small business with no more than 500 employees;

Sole proprietors, independent contractors, and certain self-employed individuals;
Businesses with more than one physical location, but fewer than 500 employees at
each site, in the accommodation and food services industries (i.e., classified as
“Accommodation and Food Services” by NAICS);

tribal businesses described in section 31(b)(2)(C) of the Small Business Act with
no more than 500 employees;

Non-profit 501(c)(3) organizations; and,

“Veteran organizations,” as defined in section 501(c)(19) of the Internal Revenue
Code.

Covered Period: Loans taken out between February 15, 2020, and June 30, 2020.

Loan Amount: The maximum size of these loans will be $10 million; however, the size
of these loans will be subject to a formula that is the equivalent of 250% of an employer’s
average monthly payroll.

Interest Terms: Interest is capped at 4%.

Forgiveness: If the business retains (or rehires) its employees and maintains their pay,
the portion of the loan spent within the first 8 weeks after receipt of funds are forgivable
if spent on the following eligible expenses:
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e “Payroll costs”;

e Costs related to the continuation of group health care benefits, like paid sick,
family, or medical leave;

e Insurance premiums;

e Salaries wages;

e Commissions, cash, etc., compensation to sole proprietors or independent

contractors (including commission-based compensation) up to $100,000 in 1 year,

prorated for the covered period,

Interest on any mortgage obligation;

Rent;

Utilities; and,

The interest on other debt obligations.

“Payroll costs” do not include individual employee compensation in excess of a salary of
$100,000 per year, prorated for the covered period; compensation for an employee whose
principal place of residence is outside the United States; certain taxes; and qualified sick
and family leave subject to other credits.

The amount of funds eligible for forgiveness will be reduced for employers terminating
employees and cutting wages during the covered period. Employers who rehire
employees previously laid off will not be penalized for having a reduced payroll at the
beginning of the covered period.

Employers with tipped employees may receive forgiveness for additional wages paid to
tipped employees.

Deferment of Loan Payments: Repayment of principal and interest may be deferred for
a period not less than 6 months and up to one year.

Collateral and Personal Guarantee Requirements: The CARES Act waives these
requirements.

Fees and Penalties: The CARES Act waives application fees and pre-payment penalties.

Where to Apply: Loans will be available immediately through existing SBA-certified
lenders. Many additional lenders will be brought into the program over the next few
weeks.

Other Terms: Any loan amount not forgiven will have a loan term of not more than ten
years, with a maximum interest rate of 4%. There are limits on receiving a Paycheck
Protection Program loan and an EIDL loan. An EIDL loan made between January 31,
2020 and the date Paycheck Protection Program loans are available may be refinanced as
part of a paycheck protection loan.

The SBA and Treasury have information on the program at https://www.sba.gov/funding-
programs/loans/paycheck-protection-program-ppp and https://home.treasury.gov/cares and
https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/top-priorities/cares-act/assistance-for-small-businesses.
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A sample form can be found at https://www.sba.gov/document/sha-form--paycheck-protection-
program-ppp-sample-application-form.

SBA Loan Payment Subsidy

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law authorizes the SBA to pay the principal, interest,
and fees for six months for 7(a) loans, 504 loans, or microloan, originated before the enactment
date of the measure, but excluding the Paycheck Protection Program. This relief is likewise
available for new borrowers who take out an SBA loan within six months after the President
signs the CARES Act into law.

SBA Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center

Phone: (800) 659-2955
Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals: (800) 877-8339
E-mail: disastercustomerservice@sba.qov  Online: https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/

SBA Business Recovery Centers (BRC)

The SBA will likely not open BRCs. Assistance and information on the SBA’s Coronavirus
Assistance may be found at https://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-
guidance-loan-resources.

Louisiana Small Business Development Center
The Center is offering assistance and advice to businesses navigating the SBA loan process and
other forms of disaster assistance.

State Office

(866) 782-4159

Lasbdc@Isbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdc
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdc

Baton Rouge Region

Southern University

(225) 771-2891

Isbdc.subr@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcsubr

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdcsubr

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge,
East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West
Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana

Acadiana Region

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

(337) 482-6312

Isbdc.ull@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcull
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdcull

Parishes Served: Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia,
Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and
Vermilion

Baton Rouge Region
Capital Region Office
(225) 615-8932
Isbdc.cr@lsbdc.org

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge,
East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West
Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana
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Baton Rouge Region

Baton Rouge Satellite Office

(985) 493-2587

Isbdc.nic@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcnic

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge,
East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West
Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana

Northeast Region

University of Louisiana Monroe

(318) 342-1224

Isbdc.ulm@Isbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdculm
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdculm

Parishes Served: Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia,
East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln,

Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas,
Union, and West Carroll

Northwest & Central Region

Bossier Parish Community College

(318) 678-6142

Isbdc.nwer@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nwcrla/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LSBDCNWCR

Parishes Served: Avoyelles, Bienville, Bossier,
Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, Natchitoches,
Rapides, Sabine, Vernon, Red River, Webster and
Winn

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Assistance

Greater New Orleans Region

Xavier University of Louisiana

(504) 831-3730

Isbdc.gnor@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcgnor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdcgnor

Parishes Served: Assumption, Jefferson,
Lafourche, Orleans, Plaguemines, St. Bernard, St.
Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and
Terrebonne.

Northshore Region

Southeastern Louisiana University

(985) 549-3831

Lsbdc.selu@Isbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcslu
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdcslu

Parishes Served: Livingston, St. Helena, St.
Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington

Southwest Louisiana Region

McNeese State University

(337) 475-5529

Isbdc.msu@lsbdc.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Isbdcmsu
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Isbdcmsu

Parishes Served: Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu,
Cameron, and Jefferson Davis

On April 1, 2020, the Chamber published a pamphlet entitled “Coronavirus Emergency Loans:
Small Business Guide and Checklist” to assist businesses applying for the disaster-related loans.

The guide can be found at

https://www.uschamber.com/sites/default/files/023595 comm corona virus smallbiz loan fina

l.pdf?mc cid=8da0lcde68&mc eid=42c428c907.
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Coronavirus 10-Day Paid Sick Leave and Paid Child Care Leave Tax Credits

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response
Act.” The law provides tax credits to employers with less than 500 employees for the purpose of
financing paid leave to individuals who are sick with the coronavirus or have to stay home to
take care of a child due to a closed school or day care center.

Paid Sick Leave for Workers — First 10 Days

The law provides that employees of eligible employers can receive two weeks (up to 80
hours) of paid sick leave at 100% of the employee’s pay where the employee is unable to
work because the employee is guarantined, and/or experiencing COVID19 symptoms, and
seeking a medical diagnosis.

Paid Child Care/Sick Leave- First 10 Days

The law provides that employees of eligible employers can receive two weeks (up to 80
hours) of paid Child Care/Sick Leave at 2/3 the employee’s pay where the employee is unable
to work because of a need to care for an individual subject to guarantine, to care for a child
whose school is closed or child care provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID19

Additional Leave beyond the First 10 Days

An employee who is unable to work due to a need to care for a child whose school is closed
or child care provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID19, may in some instances
receive up to an additional ten weeks of expanded paid family and medical leave at 2/3 the
employee’s pay.

Complete Coverage

Employers receive 100% reimbursement for paid leave pursuant to the Act.
o Employer contributions to health insurance costs are also included in the credit.
o Employers face no payroll tax liability including 1.45% Medicare tax.
o Self-employed individuals receive an equivalent credit.

Fast Funds

Reimbursement will be quick and easy to obtain.
o Animmediate dollar-for-dollar tax offset against payroll taxes will be provided
o Where a refund is owed, the IRS will send the refund as quickly as possible.

Small Business Protection

Employers with fewer than 50 employees are eligible for an exemption from the requirements
to provide leave to care for a child whose school is closed or child care is unavailable in cases
where the viability of the business is threatened.

Easing Compliance
o Requirements subject to 30-day non-enforcement period for good faith compliance
efforts.

To take immediate advantage of the paid leave credits, businesses can retain and access funds
that they would otherwise pay to the IRS in payroll taxes. If those amounts are not sufficient
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to cover the cost of paid leave, employers can seek an expedited advance from the IRS by
submitting a streamlined claim form that will be released next week.

Paid Sick Leave Credit Limit

For an employee who is unable to work because of Coronavirus quarantine or self-quarantine
or has Coronavirus symptoms and is seeking a medical diagnosis, eligible employers may
receive a refundable sick leave credit for sick leave at the employee’s regular rate of pay, up
to $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggregate, for a total of 10 days.

Child Care/Sick Leave Credit Limit

For an employee who is caring for someone with Coronavirus, or is caring for a child because
the child’s school or child care facility is closed, or the child care provider is unavailable due
to the Coronavirus, eligible employers may claim a credit for two-thirds of the employee’s
regular rate of pay, up to $200 per day and $2,000 in the aggregate, for up to 10 days. Eligible
employers are entitled to an additional tax credit determined based on costs to maintain health
insurance coverage for the eligible employee during the leave period.

Additional Child Care/Sick Leave Credit

In addition to the sick leave credit, for an employee who is unable to work because of a need
to care for a child whose school or child care facility is closed or whose child care provider is
unavailable due to the Coronavirus, eligible employers may receive a refundable child care
leave credit. This credit is equal to two-thirds of the employee’s regular pay, capped at $200
per day or $10,000 in the aggregate. Up to 10 weeks of qualifying leave can be counted
towards the child care leave credit. Eligible employers are entitled to an additional tax credit
determined based on costs to maintain health insurance coverage for the eligible employee
during the leave period.

Prompt Payment for the Cost of Providing Leave

When employers pay their employees, they are required to withhold from their employees’
paychecks federal income taxes and the employees' share of Social Security and Medicare
taxes. The employers then are required to deposit these federal taxes, along with their share
of Social Security and Medicare taxes, with the IRS and file quarterly payroll tax returns
(Form 941 series) with the IRS.

Under guidance that will be released next week, eligible employers who pay qualifying sick
or child care leave will be able to retain an amount of the payroll taxes equal to the amount of
gualifying sick and child care leave that they paid, rather than deposit them with the IRS.

The payroll taxes that are available for retention include withheld federal income taxes, the
employee share of Social Security and Medicare taxes, and the employer share of Social
Security and Medicare taxes with respect to all employees.

If there are not sufficient payroll taxes to cover the cost of qualified sick and child care leave
paid, employers will be able file a request for an accelerated payment from the IRS. The IRS
expects to process these requests in two weeks or less. The details of this new, expedited
procedure will be announced next week.
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Examples

1) If an eligible employer paid $5,000 in sick leave and is otherwise required to deposit
$8,000 in payroll taxes, including taxes withheld from all its employees, the employer
could use up to $5,000 of the $8,000 of taxes it was going to deposit for making qualified
leave payments. The employer would only be required under the law to deposit the
remaining $3,000 on its next regular deposit date.

2) If an eligible employer paid $10,000 in sick leave and was required to deposit $8,000 in
taxes, the employer could use the entire $8,000 of taxes in order to make qualified leave
payments, and file a request for an accelerated credit for the remaining $2,000.

3) Equivalent child care leave and sick leave credit amounts are available to self-employed
Individuals under similar circumstances. These credits will be claimed on their income
tax return and will reduce estimated tax payments.

Small Business Exemption

Small businesses with fewer than 50 employees will be eligible for an exemption from the
leave requirements relating to school closings or child care unavailability where the
requirements would jeopardize the ability of the business to continue. The exemption will be
available on the basis of simple and clear criteria that make it available in circumstances
involving jeopardy to the viability of an employer’s business as a going concern. The U.S.
Department of Labor will provide emergency guidance and rulemaking to clearly articulate
this standard.

Self-Employed

There’s a parallel regime for the self-employed, and they can calculate an equivalent amount
to the $511 per-day, or the $200 per-day respective caps. This then becomes an income
amount that self-employed are treated as if they’re paying to themselves while they receive
the corresponding employer credit. With the disaster declaration, the disaster unemployment
assistance program does allow for self-employed individuals to qualify as if they were a
terminated employee, in order to qualify for unemployment.

Non-Enforcement Period

The U.S. Department of Labor will be issuing a temporary non-enforcement policy that
provides a period of time for employers to come into compliance with the Act. Under this
policy, Labor will not bring an enforcement action against any employer for violations of the
Act so long as the employer has acted reasonably and in good faith to comply with the Act.
Labor will instead focus on compliance assistance during the 30-day period.

Additional Information
For more information about these credits and other relief, visit Coronavirus Tax Relief on

IRS.gov.
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Compliance Assistance and Help

The IRS and posted an extensive compliance assistance page and FAQ regarding this leave at
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/covid-19-related-tax-credits-for-required-paid-leave-provided-
by-small-and-midsize-businesses-fags#sick leave.

The U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD) posted a temporary rule
issuing regulations pursuant to this new law, effective today, April 1, 2020, at
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/Pandemic/FFCRA.pdf

WHD will post a recorded webinar on Friday, April 3, 2020, to provide interested parties a
more in-depth description and help them learn more about the FFCRA. To view the
webinar, visit https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic.

WHD offers a number of plain-language compliance assistance materials to explain these
benefits and requirements. The tools include a Fact Sheet for Employees and a Fact Sheet
for Employers, available in both English and Spanish, and an expansive list of Questions

and Answers addressing the questions WHD has most frequently received from
stakeholders to date. Available guidance also includes two new posters, one for federal
workers and one for all other employees, available in both English and Spanish, that will
fulfill notice requirements for employers obligated to inform employees about their rights
under this new law, Questions and Answers about posting requirements, and a Field
Assistance Bulletin describing WHD’s 30-day non-enforcement policy.

WHD provides additional information on common issues employers and employees face
when responding to COVID-19 and its effects on wages and hours worked under the Fair
Labor Standards Act and job-protected leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act at
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic.

Employee Retention Credit

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law provides an optional refundable employer
payroll tax credit of 50% of wages on the first $10k of wages per employee. Eligible wages are
those incurred March 13th through end of the year.

For eligible employers with more than 100 full-time employees, qualified wages are wages paid
to employees when they are not providing services due to the COVID-19-related circumstances.

For eligible employers with 100 or fewer full-time employees, all employee wages qualify for
the credit if: 1) they had to close subject to a government shutdown order; or 2) their gross
receipts dropped by 50% from the same period in 2019.

If the employer is paying sick or family leave under H.R. 6201, the employer doesn’t get to take
the same wages into account for the purposes of this credit.

Employers can add a pro rata share of health expenses in addition to wages.
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What businesses qualify for the employee retention credit? Any employer, regardless of
size, is eligible for the credit during calendar year 2020 if the business: (1) is fully or partially
suspended due to a governmental order related to COVID-19, or (2) experiences a significant
decline in gross receipts (i.e., a reduction of 50 percent of gross receipts from the same quarter
in 2019). The credit also applies to tax-exempt organizations if the operation of the
organization is fully or partially suspended due to the circumstances described in (1) above.
The credit generally does not apply to governmental employers, including the U.S.
Government, state and local governments, or any agency of the foregoing.

Is the credit limited to businesses affected by COVID-19? Yes. The credit only applies to
qualified wages paid by a business whose operations have been fully or partially suspended
pursuant to a governmental order related to COVID-19, or have experienced a significant
decline (i.e., 50 percent) in gross receipts, as described above, during the period from March
13, 2020 through December 31, 2020.

Does the credit only apply to small businesses? No. For eligible employers with 100 or
fewer full-time employees, the credit applies to all employee wages. In contrast, eligible
employers with greater than 100 full-time employees may only take into account qualified
wages paid to employees when they are not providing services due to a governmental order
related to COVID-19.

How much is the credit? How is it calculated? The credit is equal to 50 percent of the
qualified wages paid by the employer with respect to each employee. The amount of qualified
wages with respect to any employee for all calendar quarters in 2020 cannot exceed

$10,000. In other words, there is a $10,000 total cap on the credit per employee for the 2020
tax year.

How much of an employee’s compensation counts toward the credit? Do health care
costs count? The definition of qualified wages differs depending on the size of the business.
For employers with more than 100 full-time employees, qualified wages include wages paid
to employees when they are not providing services due to a governmental order related to
COVID-19. If an employee is performing services on a reduced schedule, wages paid to the
employee are only treated as qualified wages if they exceed what the employee would have
otherwise been paid for the services performed. In that case, employers will receive a credit
for the difference between the total wages paid to the employee and the amount the employer
would have paid for the reduced hours or services actually provided by the employee.

For eligible employers with 100 or fewer full-time employees, all employee wages qualify for
the credit, whether or not the employee is providing services to the employer.

Regardless of business size, qualified wages include certain healthcare costs paid by an
employer to maintain a group health plan.

Qualified wages do not include wages taken into account for purposes of the payroll tax credit
for required paid sick leave or paid family leave as provided in Division G of H.R. 6201, the
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Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). This exception prevents both credits from
applying to the same wages paid by an employer.

Does it matter if the business is a corporation? Does it apply to limited liability
companies (LLCs), S corporations, partnerships, and sole proprietors? The credit is
available to corporations as well as pass-through entities, such as LLCs, S corporations,
partnerships, and sole proprietors. The credit also is available to most tax-exempt
organizations. Although the credit is available to all entity types, the business must meet the
eligibility requirements — see Q&AL above.

Do I have to wait until my business files its 2020 tax return to claim the credit? No. The
tax credit may be claimed against the employer portion of employment taxes, including Social
Security and Railroad Retirement payroll taxes. To the extent the credit exceeds the employer
portion of employment taxes due, the credit is treated as an overpayment and is refundable to
the employer. The IRS is expected to provide guidance regarding the process for claiming the
credit and receiving the refund. See Coronavirus Tax Relief on the IRS.gov website.

Does the business have to pay back the credit? No. As long as the employer meets the
requirements for the credit (described in the Q&As above), the employer does not have to
repay the credit or the resulting refunds.

What if the business claims the FFCRA credit for mandatory sick leave and/or family
leave? If the business claims the FFCRA credit for mandatory sick leave and/or family leave,
the wages associated with the FFCRA credit are not eligible as qualified wages for the
employee retention credit. This prevents both credits from applying to the same wages paid by
an employer.

Is the credit available if the business receives one of the new SBA loans under the
CARES Act? The credit is not available to employers receiving a small business interruption
loan under the SBA’s Paycheck Protection Program (CARES Act section 1102).

How long is the credit available? The credit is available for qualified wages paid from
March 13, 2020 through December 31, 2020.

Where can | get more information on the Employer Retention Credit? The IRS is
expected to provide guidance regarding the credit, which will be available on the IRS.gov
website — see Coronavirus Tax Relief.

Delay of Payment of Employer Payroll Taxes

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law defers employer payroll taxes, with half of the
amount required to be paid by December 31, 2021 and the other half by December 31, 2022.

The delay does not apply for businesses that have had indebtedness forgiven under the Paycheck
Protection Program.
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Tax Modifications for Net Operating Losses

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law relaxes the limitations on a company’s use of
operating losses in previous years by providing that a loss from 2018, 2019, or 2020 can be
carried back by five years preceding the loss, allowing the taxpayer to apply the net operating
loss against any taxable income to get a tax refund, and by removing the taxable income
limitation to allow net operating losses (NOLSs) to fully offset income.

The CARES Act also modifies the limitation on losses for taxpayers other than corporations such
that the net operating loss carryback rules described above in Sec. 2303 also apply to these non-
corporate taxpayers.

Tax Modification of Credit for Prior-Year Minimum Tax Liability of Corporations

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law accelerates the corporate alternative minimum
tax credit.

Tax Modification of Limitation on Business Interest

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law increases the amount of interest expenses
businesses can deduct for tax years 2019 and 2020 from 30% to 50%. Businesses may also elect
to use 2019 income for taxable years beginning in 2020.

Tax Modification for Qualified Improvement Property

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law allows businesses to immediately write off costs
associated with improving facilities.

Temporary Exception from Excise Tax for Alcohol Used to Produce Hand Sanitizer

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and
Economic Security Act (CARES Act). The law waives the federal excise tax on any distilled
spirits used for or contained in hand sanitizer that is produced and distributed in a manner
consistent with guidance issued by the Food and Drug Administration and is effective for
calendar year 2020. This provision applies to distilled spirits removed after December 31, 2019.

Louisiana Economic Development (LED) Louisiana Loan Portfolio Guaranty Program
(LPGP)

The Louisiana Loan Portfolio Guaranty Program is a partnership of Louisiana Economic
Development (LED), which will provide a loan guaranty fund; the Louisiana Bankers
Association (LBA), whose participating members will offer the loans; and the Louisiana Public
Facilities Authority (LPFA), which will administer the program.

The purpose of the LPGP is to provide loans to Louisiana small businesses in response to
COVID-19. At this time, LED recognizes small business needs are immediate, and if there isn’t
a timely response, the State risks losing a foundational element of its economy. In collaboration
with the LBA and LPFA, LED has worked with the banking community to provide access to
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capital to small companies that may experience (have experienced) a sudden drop in revenues
due to lost business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The State through LED is guaranteeing
a portion of each participating bank’s loans.

Who’s Eligible:
Any small businesses with fewer than 100 employees.

Ineligible entities:

Ineligible entities are churches, religious and non-profit organizations, and businesses
primarily engaged in gaming, real estate developers, pawn shops, pay-day loans, lending and
investment concerns, or speculative activities.

Loan Terms:
Up to $100,000; maximum interest rate of 3.5%; loan term up to 5 years.
First six months NO interest, and NO payments due during first six months of the loan.

How to Apply:
Apply directly to one of the participating banks. (See link below for more information.)

Suggested Uses of Loan Funds:

Maintain employee payroll and continuance of operations for an 8-week period at payroll
levels at the time of applying for the loan.

(If operational, the business must comply with Governor Edwards’ Stay at Home and social
distancing policies.)

Deadline to Apply:
April 30, 2020

Questions and More Information:
LEDSmallBizLoans@]la.gov
https://www.opportunitylouisiana.com/covid19/led-loan-guaranty-program?v=2
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Public Assistance for Governmental and Non-Profit Entities

Parishes Seeking Federal And State Assistance

To qualify for a federal reimbursement from the declaration or assistance from the State, a
Parish must their request through their Parish OEP and the system. Additional information
on WebEOC is at http://gohsep.la.gov/RESPOND/REQUEST-RESOURCES/WEB-EOC
and the PPDA process is available starting on Page 127 of GOHSEP’s Louisiana Elected
Officials Emergency Management Manual available at
http://gohsep.la.gov/Portals/0/Documents/Elected Officials_Manual _2015.pdf

If a Parish is having trouble reaching their Regional Coordinator or SAL may contact Allison
Hadley with GOHSEP at (225) 339-3798, (225) 718-1815, or allison.hadley@]Ia.gov

Public Assistance provides a reimbursement from FEMA of 75% of the cost for debris
removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of
disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit
(PNP) organizations. The PA Program also encourages protection of these damaged
facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during
the recovery process.

Parish and Local Officials should work closely with their Parish Office of Emergency
Preparedness and GOHSEP on all aspects of disaster response and recovery. Failure to
strictly follow and document the requirements for Public Assistance could prevent the
Parish or municipality from being eligible for PA from FEMA.

As of April 7, 2020, the State has spent over $599 million on the disaster. The threshold for
90/10 federal/state split for Louisiana is $662 million. Louisiana will likely reach this
threshold before April 16.

GOHSEP has all of their publications to assist Public Assistance applicants available at
http://gohsep.la.gov/RESOURCES/OVERVIEW/PUBLICATIONS. The Regional
Coordinator or State Applicant Liaison (SAL) at GOHSEP can answer question and help
with submissions.
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Helpful Information and Resources

Coping with Disaster and Mental Health Issues

Keeping Calm through COVID Hotline connects individuals to trained, compassionate
counselors who can offer support and who can direct individuals to mental health and substance
abuse counseling services. Trained counselors are available 24/7. All calls are confidential.
Call 1-866-310-7977 24/7

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) offers a Disaster
Distress Helpline. You can call 1-800-985-5990 or text TalkWithUs to 66746.

The Crisis Counseling being offered through FEMA Individual Assistance is run by the
Louisiana Department of Health’s Louisiana Spirit at 1-866-310-7977.

FEMA offers advice on coping with a disaster at http://www.fema.gov/coping-disaster.

Additional individuals coping with substance abuse or mental health issues in a disaster can find
resource at https://www.disasterassistance.gov/get-assistance/forms-of-assistance/4506

Louisiana Department of Education
The Louisiana Department of Education has a website devoted to the impact of the coronavirus
on schools at https://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/covid-19.
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Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
They are encouraging residents to check office closures and service limitations before visiting
offices at https://offices.omv.la.gov/.

Louisiana Department of Corrections
Information on the impact of the virus on the prisons, paroles, and pardons is available at
https://doc.louisiana.gov/2019-novel-coronavirus-information/.

Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development
They are updating their news section with the status of department services and tips on ways to
help prevent the spread of COVID-19. http://wwwsp.dotd.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx.

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Information on the virus and its impacts on the operations of DEQ is available at
https://www.deq.louisiana.gov/news/category/top-stories.

Taxes

Federal Income Taxes
The Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service are providing special payment
relief to individuals and businesses in response to the COVID-19 Outbreak.

Tax Filing and Payment Deadlines Are Extended from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020.
(See Details)

The IRS urges taxpayers who are owed a refund to file as quickly as possible.

The 2019 income tax filing and payment deadlines for all taxpayers who file and pay their
Federal income taxes on April 15, 2020, are automatically extended until July 15, 2020. This
relief applies to all individual returns, trusts, and corporations. This relief is automatic,
taxpayers do not need to file any additional forms or call the IRS to qualify.

This relief also includes estimated tax payments for tax year 2020 that are due on April 15,
2020.

Penalties and interest will begin to accrue on any remaining unpaid balances as of July 16,
2020. You will automatically avoid interest and penalties on the taxes paid by July 15.

Individual taxpayers who need additional time to file beyond the July 15 deadline can request
a filing extension by filing Form 4868 through their tax professional, tax software or using
the Free File link on IRS.gov. Businesses who need additional time must file Form 7004.

The IRS has established a special Coronavirus Tax Relief page on our website. It is focused
on steps to help taxpayers, businesses and others affected by the coronavirus. The page will
be updated as new information is available.
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Additional information on the payment extension is available at
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/payment-deadline-extended-to-july-15-2020. For those with
additional questions, they may visit www.irs.gov or call the following:

Individuals
800-829-1040
7 a.m.to 7 p.m. local time

Businesses
800-829-4933
7 a.m.to 7 p.m. local time

Non-profit taxes
877-829-5500
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. local time

State Income Taxes

On March 23, 2020, the Louisiana Department of Revenue announced that the state was
extending the filing deadlines for state taxes to July 15, 2020. The extension applies to
individual, corporation, fiduciary and partnership income tax returns and payments.

Income Tax Tax Return Due Date Extended

Type DISEBEN]

IT-565 - 2019 Partnership Return of Income
Partnership R-6922 - 2019 Composite Partnership Tax
Return

April 15, 2020 July 15,
May 15, 2020 2020

IT-540 - 2019 LA Resident Income Tax Return
IT-540B - 2019 LA Nonresident and Part- July 15,

Individual Year Resident Income Tax Return May 15, 2020 2020
R-1035 - LA Consumer Use Tax Return
N S July 15,
Fiduciary IT-541 - 2019 Fiduciary Income Tax Return May 15, 2020 2020
. CIFT-620 - 2019 Corporation Income and July 15,
Corporation 5454 Franchise Tax May 15, 2020 2020

Due to a statewide stay-at-home order issued by Gov. John Bel Edwards, LDR has suspended
in-person customer service to help slow the spread of COVID-19. During this public health
emergency, LDR recommends all taxpayers take advantage of the online customer service
options available on the department’s website, including Louisiana File Online, the state’s
free tax filing portal for individual taxpayers.
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For more information, read Revenue Information Bulletin 20-009: Income and Franchise Tax
Returns and Other Matters Related to COVID-19.

Individuals

Taxpayers can file their state individual income tax returns, make payments and check their
refund status through Louisiana File Online, the state’s free web portal for individual filers,
at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.

Taxpayers who have questions and cannot get through on the phone can submit email
inquiries through the Contact page of the LDR website.

Businesses

Businesses can pay all state business taxes and file returns for state sales, tobacco,
withholding and several other state tax types, request corporate income filing extensions and
apply for payment plans through the Louisiana Taxpayer Access Point (LaTAP) at
www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LaTAP.

Businesses can also submit state, parish and municipal sales tax returns and payments
through the Parish E-File portal at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/parishe-file.

Tax Practitioners
Tax professionals can submit email inquiries through the Contact page of the LDR website
on a variety of topics including corporate, individual and sales taxes.

State Unemployment Taxes
On March 24, 2020, the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) announced today that the
deadline for first quarter 2020 wage and tax reports will be deferred to June 30, 2020.

The LWC previously announced that it was granting Louisiana employers a temporary
deferral from paying their first quarter 2020 unemployment taxes until June 30. The latest
deferral now makes both the wage and tax reports and the 1Q 2020 unemployment tax
payment due at the same time, rather than having an earlier deadline for wage and tax report
submissions.
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Report Fraud
e FEMA Fraud Line — (866) 720-5721

e Louisiana Legislative Auditor
Phone: 1-844-503-7283
Online: https://www.lla.la.gov/report-fraud/index.shtml

Legal Assistance
e Disaster Legal Services (DLS) — Only Available if FEMA 1A is Available

This program provides free legal help to low-income disaster survivors who aren’t able to
get adequate legal services to help with problems after a disaster. FEMA provides this
service through an agreement with the Young Lawyers Division of the American Bar
Association. Their help includes counseling and advice, referral to relevant legal
services, and legal representation in cases that don’t generate a fee. Cases that may have
a fee are turned over to the local lawyer referral service.

DLS can help with things like:
o Insurance claims for medical bills, loss of property, loss of life.
o New wills, powers of attorney, and other legal papers lost during the disaster.
o Home-repair contracts and contractors.
o Problems with landlords.

You can be referred to DLS by calling:
o 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)
o TTY 1-800-462-7585
o 711 and VRS 1-800-621-3362

e Paid Legal Services
Louisiana Bar Association and its local chapters offer Lawyer Referral Services.
Baton Rouge Area: (225) 344-9926
Lafayette Area: www.lafayettebar.org
Lake Charles Area: (337)436-2914
New Orleans Area: (504) 561-8828

e Free (Pro Bono) Legal Services

Alexandria

Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project, Inc. Legal Services of Central Louisiana
3600 Jackson Street 628 Murray Street

Ste. 126 Alexandria, LA 71301

Alexandria, LA 71301 Phone: (318) 443-7281

Phone: (318) 449-9778 Phone: (800) 256-4343

Fax: 318-449-5515 Web: http://www.la-law.org
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Baton Rouge

Baton Rouge Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project
544 Main Street

Baton Rouge, LA 70801

Phone: 225-344-4803

Fax: 225-344-4805

Web: http://www.brba.org

Baton Rouge

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
715 St. Ferdinand St.

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Toll Free: (855) 512-3980

Local: (225) 448-0080

Fax: (225) 383-1197

Intake Line: (225) 448-0331

Web: http://www.slls.org

Franklin

Acadiana Legal Service Corporation
P. O. Box 4823

Franklin, LA 70502

Phone: (337) 237-4320

Phone: (800) 256-1175

Web: http://www.la-law.org

Lafayette

Acadiana Legal Services Corporation
1020 Surrey Street

Lafayette, LA 70501

Phone: 337-237-4320

Phone: (800) 256-1175

Web: http://www.la-law.org

Lake Charles

Southwest Louisiana Law Center

1011 Lakeshore Drive Magnolia Bldg., Suite
402

Lake Charles, LA 70601

Phone: (337) 436-3308

Phone: (800) 256-1955

$50 consultation fee and attorney discusses
financials with the client

Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic
Violence

P.O. Box 77308

Baton Rouge, LA 70879

Phone: (225) 752-1296

Fax: (225) 751-8927
Web:_http://www.lcadv.org

Covington

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
423 North Florida Blvd.
Covington, LA 70433

Phone: (985) 893-0076

Phone: (800) 891-0076

Web: http://www.slls.org

Hammond

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
1200 Derek Drive, Suite 100
Hammond, LA 70404

Phone: (985) 345-2130

Phone: (800) 349-0886

Web: http://www.slls.org

Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers

2607 Johnston Street

Lafayette, LA 70503

Phone: (337) 237-4700

Fax: (333) 237-0970

Web: http://www.lafayettebar.org/Lafayette-
Volunteer-Lawyers.html
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Miscellaneous

U.S. Postal Service (USPS) Change of Address
There are two ways you can change your address:
1. Visit the Official USPS Change of Address page.
You must:
e Confirm your identity with a valid credit or debit card. A small charge will be
added to your account.
e Have a valid email address.

2. Fill out and submit PS Form 3575, available at any U.S. Post Office.
You may then:
e Take or mail the form to any U.S. Post Office.
e Give it to any Postal Mail Carrier.

Contracting Opportunities

Contractors should contact the applicable Federal, State, Parish, or Local Government as well as
the applicable Non-Profit in need of the goods or services they are offering. Federal and State
Contracting and Public Bidding laws may apply. Red Cross has a Supplier Management
webpage on contracting with the at http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-
vendor

Federal Contracts (General)

Anyone interested in open federal government contract opportunities should go to
http://www.fedbizopps.gov. You must already be registered in the Central Contractor
Registry (CCR) at www.ccr.gov. After completing the required elements, go to the Disaster
Response page (see “Optional Information” on the left had side of the page).

CCR Customer Service Contact Information

Phone: 1-888-227-2423

Email: ccr@bpn.gov

Hours of Operation are 9 - 5 (EST) Monday - Friday. Voice mail messages will be taken
if all lines are busy and all calls will be returned.

Federal Disaster contracts are primarily coordinated by the SBA and handled by
procurement employees from various federal agencies based on availability. They
primarily use previously identified contractors with proven records with government
contracts. Depending on the needs of the federal government, work may go out to
competition. See https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/disaster _contracting.pdf

FEMA'’s general contracting site is at http://femacontracts.com/. All vendors interested
in doing business with FEMA should send an e-mail to FEMA-Industry@dhs.gov.

U.S. SENATOR BILL CASSIDY, MD


http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-vendor
http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-vendor
http://www.fedbizopps.gov/
http://www.ccr.gov/
mailto:ccr@bpn.gov
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/disaster_contracting.pdf
http://femacontracts.com/
mailto:FEMA-Industry@dhs.gov

4/9/2020 9:23 AM

Companies seeking to Import or Manufacture Medical Products to Aid the U.S.
Response to COVID-19

If a constituent company would like to import or produce medical products to help with
the COVID-19 response, please send these inquiries to FEMA

at covidsupplies@fema.dhs.gov. Please include as many details as possible about the
request (e.g., manufacturer name, address, product, and model number) and contact
information for the company, either an agent in the U.S. or the company itself.

If companies have medical supplies or equipment to donate, please email FEMA’s
National Business Emergency Operations Center at nbeoc@fema.dhs.gov. For additional
information, see https://www.fema.gov/coronavirus/how-to-help.

Vaccines and other biological product candidates

Biological product sponsors, including vaccine developers, wishing to develop vaccines
can email industry.biologics@fda.hhs.gov or call 1-800-835-4709 for further
information.

Therapeutics and other drug product candidates

Sponsors wishing to develop therapeutics are encouraged to submit information and
questions via the Pre-IND Consultation program. See https://www.fda.gov/emergency-
preparedness-and-response/mcm-issues/covid-19-therapeutics-general-information-
interested-stakeholders or call 301-796-1500 for additional information on this program.

Clinical Trials
Sponsors who have questions regarding the conduct of clinical trials impacted by
COVID-19 should contact clinicaltrialconduct-COVID19@fda.hhs.gov

State Disaster Contracts
GOHSEP has a list of its contracting opportunities listed at
http://gohsep.la.gov/RESOURCES/EMERGENCY-EVENT-PROCUREMENT

Due to poor modeling projections, the state ordered over 13,000 ventilators and has now
begun cancelling orders for low and mid-level ventilators.

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and Medical Supplies

President Donald Trump has invoked the Defense Production Act to get needed medical supplies
on the front lines of the coronavirus outbreak and the private sector mobilized against it. His
administration is also leveraging the ability to buy American during government contracting and
procurement to increase the demand and supply of PPE and medical supplies. In the U.S.,
manufacturers of various industrial masks and other producers are retooling their operations to
begin the production of health care mask. In addition, China has reopened many of their PPE
and medical supply plants and lifted their current ban on their exports. It is expected that when
all of this is online, the shortages will be mostly eliminated. In addition, most mining and
industrial masks meet standards just below those of hospital masks and would be suitable for
most people.
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Drug Shortages

If a healthcare provider has questions or concerns about a drug shortage, related or unrelated
to COVID-19, they should contact the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER),
Division of Drug Information (DDI) at 855-543-3784, 301-796-3400, or
druginfo@fda.hhs.gov. Also, FDA's Drug Shortage web page has information related to
current shortages.

Private Medical Professionals

The Louisiana Department of Health and GOHSEP have provided the following updated
guidance for requesting PPE and medical supplies. This supplements previous directions to
contact the Parish EOP (Emergency Operations Center) or use the app, ReadyOps and these
avenues should be stopped immediately. This guidance is for NON-government entities.

1. To the extent possible, please continue to use the vendor/supply chain you would normally
to request such supplies.

2. We are keeping a list of unique providers (as they become made known to us) listed
below. You may be able to receive supplies more quickly by purchasing from them directly.

3. You can call the State Supply Hotline at 225-325-5900 to be put on our list as supplies
become available. This phone line is available seven days a week from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
CST.

Additionally, this is not a guarantee that you will receive PPE — LDH is prioritizing supplies
that go out based on need. You may receive some of your request in an effort to assist as best
we can. We understand there are shortages of supplies everywhere across the state and the
U.S., so please be patient as we look to distribute our limited resources the best way we can.

As a last resort, they call the FDA’s toll-free line at 1-888-463-6332 (1-888-INFO-FDA), then
choose option (*). The line is available 24 hours a day to help address difficulties obtaining
supplies.

24/7 Hotline for Diagnostics

If a developer, lab, manufacturer or health care provider has questions about testing or is
experiencing spot shortages of testing, personal protective equipment, or other supplies, they
should call our toll-free line at 1-888-463-6332 (1-888-INFO-FDA), then choose option (*).
The line is available 24 hours a day to help address difficulties obtaining supplies for
collecting patient samples for COVID-19 testing, including swabs, media needed for
transport, and conservation of the samples — among other things. Please note, however, that
FDA does not control the production volume or distribution of medical devices.
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Louisiana Department of Health Identified Suppliers
The following companies have been identified as PPE suppliers:

Joe Wilson, Independent vendor
Email: joe@marshio.vc

Phone 615-218-2489

Works with supplier: Pipeline Medical
Supplies

Available PPE: N95, SWABS, misc.
K & J Supplies

Craig Fowler

3314 W. Admiral Doyle Drive

New Iberia, LA 70560

Phone 337-519-7723

Phone 337-364-4663

Available PPE: gowns, must provide
specs at time of order placement.

Lewis McMillan

Director, Government Sales (state and
local)

Thomas Scientific, LLC

Phone: 484-280-8133

Email: lewis.mcmillan@thomassci.com

Available PPE: Viral testing medium

Louisiana Board of Drug and Device
Distributors

12091 Bricksome Avenue

Suite B

Baton Rouge, LA 70816

Phone 225-295-8567

Phone 225-678-0218
www.drugboard.la.gov

Available PPE: N95 mask

Grainger

Grainger.com

Phone 225-315-0899

Available PPE: gloves, gowns, mask,
suits

Equitas Life Technologies

Rick Mladek

Email: rmladek@equitaslifetech.com
Phone 330-297-8938

Available PPE: N95

Larry Jackson

Checkmate Systems, LLC

201 St Charles Avenue

Suite 2500

New Orleans, LA 70170

Phone 504-259-0438

Available PPE: N95 mask, gloves, gowns,
hand sanitizer

American Bio Medica

Phone 518-758-8158

Phone 800-227-1243

Available PPE: Covid 19 test on pre-order

3M

Www.3m.com

Available PPE: gloves, gowns, N95, suits,
mask

Town and Country Nursing Home

Phone 318-377-5148, ext. 511

Available PPE: 9 extra covidian brand puritan
bennett 540 ventilators
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Zeem Consulting

Zac Jiwa

Phone 512-222-7922

Email: zac@zeemconsulting.com
Available PPE: N95 mask

(continued)

Ballard Hospitality

Scott Ballard

180 New Camellia Blvd

Suite 100

Covington, LA 70433

Phone 985-792-5776, ext. 113
Website: www.ballardbrands.com
Available PPE: 3M N95 mask, Covid
19 testing kits

White House Identified Swab
Providers

Copan Diagnostics

26055 Jefferson Avenue Murrieta, CA
92562

800-216-4016

Thermo Fisher Scientific

168 Third Avenue | Waltham, MA
02451

781-622-1000

800-678-5599

Government Medical Professionals

ProSource Specialties

Laura Velador

P.O. Box 271463

Flower Mound, TX 75027

Phone 877-222-1870

Website: psimprint.com

Email: laura@prosourcespecialties.com
Available PPE: N95 mask, other mask, hand
sanitizer, gloves

Becton, Dickinson and Company
1 Becton Drive

Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417-1880
Phone: 201.847.6800

Princeton BioMeditech Corporation

P.O. Box 7139, Princeton, New Jersey 08543-
7139 U.S.A.

Tel: (732) 274-1000

4242 U.S. Route 1, Monmouth Junction, New
Jersey 08852-1905 U.S.A.

Fax: (732) 274-1010

Internet E-mail: info@pbmc.com

World Wide Web:
https://protect2.fireeye.com/url?k=8ce4f646-
dOb0ef3a-8ce4c779-0cc47adc5fa2-
6d424e887a2fb0e6&u=http://www.pbmc.com/

Government owned or affiliated medical facilities should go through their agency or the
Parish Office of Emergency and Preparedness (OEP) to enter their requests in the WebEOC
system used by the Governor’s Office for Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness
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(GOHSEP) to track requests and manage FEMA Public Assistance funding. A current list of
OEPs is available at https://gohsep.la.gov/ABOUT/PARISHPA.

Animal Drugs and Animal Food Issues

If a constituent has questions or concerns related to COVID-19 and its impact on products
regulated by FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine, they may contact AsSkCVM@fda.hhs.gov,
and their inquiry will be routed to the appropriate subject matter expert for response. A list of
known animal drug shortages is kept by FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine.

FDA Inspections

If a State agency has questions regarding the postponement of inspections under an agreement or
contract with the FDA, they should contact OPFeedback@fda.hhs.gov or reach out to their
specific project manager. In the meantime, the FDA encourage states currently under contract to
please submit their invoices to ensure payment for work completed.
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Governor’s Stay Home Order

On March 22, 2020, the Governor issued a “Stay Home” order that became effective 5 p.m. on
March 23, 2020. The order directs all Louisiana residents to shelter at home and limit
movements outside of their homes beyond essential needs. The governor's official order can be
found on his online at https://gov.louisiana.gov/assets/Proclamations/2020/JBE-33-2020.pdf.

On April 2, 2020, the Governor renewed the order until on April 30, 2020.
You are allowed to:
Go to the grocery, convenience or warehouse store
Go to the pharmacy to pick up medications and other healthcare necessities
Go to medical appointments (check with your doctor or provider first)
Go to a restaurant for take-out, delivery or drive-thru
Care for or support a friend or family member

Take a walk, ride your bike, hike, jog and be in nature for exercise — just keep at least
six feet between you and others.

Walk your pets and take them to the veterinarian if necessary
Help someone to get necessary supplies
Receive deliveries from any business which delivers
The Governor discourages you from:
Going to work unless you are providing essential services as defined by this Order
Visiting friends and family if there is no urgent need
Maintaining less than 6 feet of distance from others when you go out

Visiting loved ones in the hospital, nursing home, skilled nursing facility or other
residential care facility, except for limited exceptions as provided on the facility websites.

For businesses, the new Stay at Home order has limits on the following:
All places of public amusement, whether indoors or outdoors, including but not limited
to, locations with amusement rides, carnivals, amusement parks, water parks, trampoline
parks, aquariums, zoos, museums, arcades, fairs, pool halls, children’s play centers,
playgrounds, theme parks, any theaters, concert and music halls, adult entertainment
venues, racetracks, and other similar businesses.
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All personal care and grooming businesses, including but not limited to, barber shops,
beauty salons, nail salons, spas, massage parlors, tattoo parlors, and other similar
businesses.

All malls, except for stores in a mall that have a direct outdoor entrance and exit that
provide essential services and products as provided by the Cybersecurity & Infrastructure
Security Agency (CISA) guidelines.

Businesses closed to the public as listed in the order can conduct necessary activities such
as payroll, cleaning services, maintenance or upkeep as necessary.

Any business not covered by the guidance from the CISA discussed in Section 3 of the
order and not ordered to temporarily close must reduce operations to continue with
minimum contact with members of the public and essential employees, while requiring
proper social distancing, adhering to the 10-person limitation on gathering size.

Early learning centers and child care facilities adhering to the guidance issued by the
Louisiana Department of Education and Office of Public Health may continue to operate.

Examples of Essential Worker Functions under the Cybersecurity & Infrastructure
Security Agency (CISA) guidelines include:

Healthcare workers and caregivers

Mental health and Social Service workers

Pharmacy employees

Workers supporting groceries, pharmacies and other retail sales of food and beverage
products

Restaurant carryout and quick-serve food operations and food delivery employees
Farmworkers
Electricity and Utility Industry Employees

Critical Manufacturing Employees (medical supply chains, energy, transportation, food,
chemicals)

Petroleum, Natural and Propane Gas Workers
Transportation and Logistics Workers

Communications and Information Technology Employees
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What is the difference between “Safer at Home” and “social distancing”?
Safer at home is a stricter form of social distancing. Safer at home means:

Stay home (stay unexposed and do not expose others)
Only go out for essential services

Stay six feet or more away from others

Don’t gather in groups

What if | need to visit a health care provider?
Do not go to the emergency room unless you have an actual emergency.

If you feel sick, please first call your doctor, a nurse hotline or an urgent care center.

Can | use ride share, on-demand service or a taxi?

Only for essential travel. You should avoid being in a vehicle with many other people. In
circumstances under which such transportation is needed, you must practice social distancing,
cover your mouth and nose if you cough or sneeze, use hand sanitizer or wash your hands before
and after rides. Airlines, taxis and other private transportation providers, like Uber and Lyft,
providing transportation services necessary for essential activities and other purposes are
expressly authorized in the Safer at Home Executive Order.

Should I stock up on food, necessities like toilet paper and medicines?

No. You will continue to be able to purchase these items whenever you need them, as stores
selling necessary items like grocery stores, pharmacies and hardware stores will remain open and
are frequently restocking.

Please continue to buy normal quantities of these items on the same schedule you normally do.
This will ensure that there is enough for everyone.

Can grocery stores and other food retailers remain open?

Yes. Grocery stores, water retailers, produce stands, supermarkets, food banks, convenience
stores, and similar food retail establishments are encouraged to remain open to provide food and
pet supplies to the public. When visiting these establishments, please help retailers maintain at
least six feet minimum distance between patrons, including by providing ample space while
shopping and waiting in line.
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