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Federal and State Declarations 

 

On March 13, 2020, President Trump issued a nationwide Emergency Declaration (EM-3459).  

The emergency declaration does not change measures authorized under other federal statutes and 

HHS remains the lead federal agency directing the federal response to COVID-19.  FEMA 

actions will be in support of HHS and in coordination with state, tribal and territorial 

governments.  

 

Eligible emergency protective measures taken at the direction or guidance of public health 

officials in response to this emergency, and not supported by the authorities of another federal 

agency, will be reimbursed strictly under the FEMA Public Assistance. FEMA assistance will be 

provided at a 75% Federal cost share. Reimbursable activities typically include emergency 

protective measures such as the activation of State Emergency Operations Centers, National 

Guard costs, law enforcement and other measures necessary to protect public health and safety. 

 

The total amount of assistance provided for in a single emergency may not exceed $5 million 

without the President notifying Congress.  The Governor must submit a request through the 

FEMA Regional Administrator within 30 days of the incident requesting supplemental 

assistance. 

 

The Emergency Declaration only provides Public Assistance. 

 

On March 23, 2020, FEMA sent Louisiana $31,025,826.33 as its 75% share of Louisiana’s first 

$41,367,768.44 spent under the Emergency Declaration. 

 

On March 24, 2020, President Trump issued a Disaster Declaration for Louisiana (DR-4484).  

The Disaster Declaration is statewide.  It only includes Individual Assistance limited to the Crisis 

Counseling Program and Public Assistance limited to Emergency protective measures (Category 

B) at a 75% federal share.  The IA activation is the same as the one issued to New York.  The 

additional IA categories requested by the Governor March 24, 2020, are currently under review. 

 

Key Disaster Numbers 

The State of Louisiana is only testing individuals admitted to a hospital or other high risk.  As of 

noon on June 1, 2020, there were 42,816 positive cases in 64 of 64 parishes out of 434,065 

(24,995 State and 409,070 privately) tested and 2,825 deaths1 (111 lack positive test results).  
These numbers are update at noon on http://ldh.la.gov/Coronavirus/.   Case and test counts 

include positive test results performed offshore, but not negative tests performed. 

 

The curve appears to be flattening.  A large percentage of the increases in positive cases and 

deaths over the last week have been the result of delays in reporting.  LDH’s computer models 

have consistently over-estimated positives, hospitalization, and ventilation needs.  Their 4 day 

projections have been off by significant factors. 

 

1. Louisiana’s death count includes everyone who dies and tested positive for coronavirus regardless of the actual cause of death 

as well negative newborns born premature to positive mothers and individuals without a positive test where the death is assumed 

to have a connection to COVID-19.  On April 16, the Governor introduced plans, based on New York, to soon become the 

second state that has a criteria to include deaths of individuals without a positive test result in the death count. 

http://ldh.la.gov/Coronavirus/
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Coronavirus Information from Center for Disease Control (CDC) 

Information on the virus and how to protect yourself is available at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html  

Information and Assistance from Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 

Louisiana-centered information on the virus is available at http://ldh.la.gov/coronavirus/  

For individuals in Louisiana, 211 is the single access point for information and assistance.  LDH 

moved their information helpline to 211 after the regular hotline at 1-855-523-2652 was 

overwhelmed. 

 Call 211.   

 Text LACOVID to 898-211 

 or visit www.LA211Help.org or https://louisianaassoc1.godaddysites.com/  
 

Coronavirus Testing 

Frequently Asked Questions about COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests 

In response to questions from labs, manufacturers, health care providers, and others, FDA has 

generated FAQs and posted them on our website for all who are involved in test development for 

COVID-19s. FDA updates these FAQs on a rolling basis, often daily as issues arise. Your 

constituents can access these FAQs at: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/emergency-

situations-medical-devices/faqs-diagnostic-testing-sars-cov-2.   
  

Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests 

If someone needs additional information for completing the EUA template, would like to know 

how to submit Pre-EUA/EUA submissions to FDA, or wishes to consider an alternative 

specimen type, they may contact the Division of Microbiology Devices at (301) 348-1778 or 

email CDRH-EUA-Templates@fda.hhs.gov. Please note that FDA is unable to provide 

information on the status of any individual submissions (this is generally confidential 

commercial information) and FDA would encourage congressional offices to reach out to 

specific developers for the status of any pending product submissions. 

 

State Testing 

Only individuals who are hospitalized due to severe symptoms of the virus or have other high 

risk factors are being tested by the State upon a referral from the hospital. 

 

Requesting a Private Test 

Individuals may obtain a private test from LabCorp or a Drive through Location with a physician 

referral.  You should contact your primary care physician to request a test if you are showing 

symptoms.  People who do not have a primary care provider can call 211 or texting LACOVID 

to 898-211 and they will be referred to a nearby clinic.  As a last resort, they may contact the 

Louisiana Department of Health hotline at 1-855-523-2652.  

 

Cost and Insurance Coverage of Testing 

On March 10, 2020, Vice President Pence announced that the major health insurers as well as 

Medicaid and Medicare will cover all copays and expenses for coronavirus testing and treatment 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html
http://ldh.la.gov/coronavirus/
http://www.la211help.org/
https://louisianaassoc1.godaddysites.com/
https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/emergency-situations-medical-devices/faqs-diagnostic-testing-sars-cov-2
https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/emergency-situations-medical-devices/faqs-diagnostic-testing-sars-cov-2
mailto:CDRH-EUA-Templates@fda.hhs.gov


6/8/2020 9:39 AM 

U.S. SENATOR BILL CASSIDY, MD 6 

 

with a guarantee of no out-of-pocket, surprise billing.  This is estimated to cover approximately 

240 million Americans. 

 

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response 

Act.”  It requires COVID-19 testing and the associated medical visit to be 100% covered by 

private health plans, Medicare Advantage plans, Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, and TRICARE. It 

also provides funding to Indian Health Service to cover testing.  The law bans prior authorization 

or other medical management requirements before testing. 

 

On March 27, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  It also requires all testing for COVID-19 be covered by 

private insurance plans, with free coverage of a vaccine within 15 days for COVID-19 when 

such a vaccine is available. 

 

How Drive Through Will Work and Where Are They Located 

Testing sites are generally run by private groups.  Site locations and operations are constantly 

changing.  To find the most up-to-date information on testing sites, one may visits  

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18vys3Y5Owxbxnd5Sw0yB2r4LcfOxH1ERWBayI2Zwl

MU/edit#gid=80312056 

 

On April 7, 2020, the State decided to move the New Orleans site on April 11, to St. Charles 

Parish after the City of New Orleans informed the state that it no longer wished to continue the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and State run site past April 10. 

Coronavirus Related Paid Leave 

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response 

Act,” which sets up a paid sick leave requirement for employers with fewer than 500 

employees to give to their employees who: 

 have the virus; 

 are in quarantine or caring for someone in quarantine;  

 or are caring for a child under 18 whose school is closed.  

 

Full-time workers are eligible for 80 hours of paid sick leave, and part-time workers receive time 

equal to the average number of hours they work in a given two-week period.  

 

The pay is capped at $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggregate for employees with the virus or in 

quarantine.  

 

Pay is capped at $200 per day and $2,000 in the aggregate for employees caring for someone in 

quarantine or for a child whose school closed. The required sick leave and family leave are 

paired with a refundable payroll tax credit to cover these amounts, and the requirement ends 

December 31. 

 

For those employees taking leave beyond the 10 day paid days provided above to take care of 

a child under 18 whose school or day care facility is closed, the law also amends the Family 

Medical Leave Act (FMLA) to set up a temporary emergency paid leave program through 

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18vys3Y5Owxbxnd5Sw0yB2r4LcfOxH1ERWBayI2ZwlMU/edit#gid=80312056
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18vys3Y5Owxbxnd5Sw0yB2r4LcfOxH1ERWBayI2ZwlMU/edit#gid=80312056
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December 31.  It requires private employers with fewer than 500 workers and government 

employers to provide employees up to 12 workweeks of leave, for those who have worked at 

least 30 days. Under the CARES Act, employees who were laid off by an employer after March 

1, 2020 and rehired may be eligible for paid leave if they were employed for at least 30 calendar 

days before being laid off. 

 

The first 10 days may be unpaid but generally would be covered by the emergency sick leave 

requirement, or the employee could use vacation leave or other eligible paid leave for these 

days.  
 

For the rest of the leave, employees would be entitled to at least two-thirds of their regular 

pay, up to $200 per day and $10,000 total. Employers will be fully reimbursed for these 

amounts.  

 

Employers with fewer than 25 employees do not have to reinstate an employee who takes leave 

if the position no longer exists and the employer tried to put the person in a similar position. 

Allows the Labor Department to exempt small businesses with fewer than 50 employees from 

this new leave requirement if it would put them in jeopardy. 

The law also establishes comparable sick leave and family leave income tax credits for self-

employed workers, to cover the same coronavirus-related circumstances, days of leave, and wage 

amounts as the employer credits. The self-employed tax credits are also 100% refundable. 

Recovery Tax Rebate aka Economic Impact Payments 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  It includes a recovery tax rebate which is an advance on a 

refundable tax credit on your 2020 tax return that will be due in 2021.  The eligible income 

amount is based on the 2019 tax return or the 2018 tax return if the individual has not yet 

filed a return in 2020.   

 

If someone has not filed a 2018 or 2019 tax return, they may do so at online from home using 

the IRS Free file program at https://www.irs.gov/filing/free-file-do-your-federal-taxes-for-free.   

 

If someone does not file taxes, they may use the "Non-Filers: Enter Your Payment Info Here" 

application to provide simple information so they can get their payment at 

https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here.  Anyone should use this 

application if: 

 
 They did not file a 2018 or 2019 federal income tax return because your gross income 

was under $12,200 ($24,400 for married couples). This includes people who had no 

income. 

 

 They weren’t required to file a 2018 or 2019 federal income tax return for other reasons 

 

Special note: People in these groups who have qualifying children under age 17 can use this 

application to claim the $500 payment per child.  Social Security and Railroad Retirement 

beneficiaries must enter their children by April 22, 2020 to include in their automatic checks. 

https://www.irs.gov/filing/free-file-do-your-federal-taxes-for-free
https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here
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Individuals without qualifying children who receive the following benefits should not use the 

"Non-Filers: Enter Your Payment Info Here" app because the federal government already has 

their information:  

 
 Social Security retirement, disability (SSDI), or survivor benefits 

 Railroad Retirement and Survivor Benefits 

 
On April 15, 2020, the IRS launched the “Get My Payment” web application.  It will display on 

any desktop, phone or tablet and does not need to be downloaded from an app store.  The app 

will allow those who filed a 2018 or 2019 but did not provide direct deposit information so they 

do not have to wait until May for a paper check to be sent to them.  The app will request the 

following information to verify the taxpayer’s identity: 

 
 Their Adjusted Gross Income from their most recent tax return for 2019 or 2018 

 The refund or amount owed from their latest filed tax return 

 Bank account type, account and routing numbers 

 

The “Get My Payment” app will also allow taxpayers to track the status of their payment.  They 

will need to enter the following basic information: 

 Social Security Number 

 Date of birth 

 Mailing address 

 

All U.S. residents with adjusted gross income under $75,000 ($112,500 for head of household 

and $150,000 married), who are not the dependent of another taxpayer and have a work-eligible 

Social Security Number, are eligible for the full $1,200 ($2,400 married) rebate. They are also 

eligible for an additional $500 per child under 17 years of age.   

 

Social Security beneficiaries who are not typically required to file tax returns will not need 

to file an abbreviated tax return to receive an Economic Impact Payment. Instead, payments will 

be automatically deposited into their bank accounts or by paper check, just as they would 

normally receive their benefits.  The IRS will use the information on the Form SSA-1099 and 

Form RRB-1099 to generate $1,200 Economic Impact Payments to Social Security recipients 

who did not file tax returns in 2018 or 2019.   

 

Social Security retirement, survivors, and disability insurance beneficiaries will receive their 

checks by the end of April while Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients will receive 

their payments by early May. 

 

Social Security recipients who have qualifying children under age 17, however, should not 

wait for their automatic $1,200 individual payment.  They should go to the IRS’s webpage at 

www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here and visit the Non-Filers: Enter 

Your Payment Info section to provide their information.  The deadline for these recipients was 

April 22.  If they did not enter by then, they will have to wait until they file a 2020 tax return to 

claim their child. 

http://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here
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VA, SSI recipients with eligible children need go to the IRS’s webpage at 

www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here and visit the Non-Filers: Enter 

Your Payment Info section to provide their information by May 5.  If they do not do so by then, 

they will have to wait to file a 2020 tax return to claim their children.  

  

For those SSI and Social Security retirement, survivors, and disability insurance beneficiaries, 

with dependent children, who use Direct Express debit cards, additional information will be 

available soon regarding the steps to take on the IRS website when claiming children under 17. 

 

Please note that the agency will not consider Economic Impact Payments as income for SSI 

recipients, and the payments are excluded from resources for 12 months. 

 
Payment will be made in the form of a one-time direct deposit or check. 

For higher income earners, the rebate is reduced by $5 for each $100 exceeding the phase-out 

threshold.  Starting at $75,000 for individuals, $112,500 for head of household, and $150,000 for 

married couples, the amount of the rebate gradually drops to zero for incomes exceeding $99,000 

per year for individuals, $146,500 for head of household filers, and $198,000 for joint filers. 

 
If your income is lower in 2020 than in 2019, any additional credit you are eligible for will be 

refunded or reduce your tax liability when you file your 2020 tax return next year. 

 
With the exception of past due child support payments, the bill temporarily turns off all other 

administrative offsets.  As a result, Treasury will not reduce the rebate checks for any 

outstanding federal or state debts except state-reported delinquent child support. 

 

If you are married filing jointly and you filed an injured spouse claim with your 2019 tax return 

(or 2018 tax return if you haven’t filed your 2019 tax return), half of the total Payment will be 

sent to each spouse and your spouse’s Payment will be offset only for past-due child support. 

There is no need to file another injured spouse claim for the Payment. 

The IRS is aware that in some instances a portion of the payment sent to a spouse who filed an 

injured spouse claim with his or her 2019 tax return (or 2018 tax return if no 2019 tax return has 

been filed) has been offset by the injured spouse’s past-due child support. The IRS is working 

with the Bureau of Fiscal Service and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 

Office of Child Support Enforcement, to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. If you filed an 

injured spouse claim with your return and are impacted by this issue, you do not need to 

take any action. The injured spouse will receive their unpaid half of the total payment when the 

issue is resolved. 

 

On May 19, U.S. Department of Treasury announced that instead of sending out checks for the 

nearly 4 million remaining individuals, Treasury will be sending them prepaid debit card.  The 

card recipients can make purchases, get cash from in-network ATMs, and transfer funds to their 

personal bank account without incurring any fees. They can also check their card balance online, 

by mobile app, or by phone without incurring fees.  The card can be used online, at ATMs, or at 

any retail location where Visa is accepted.  This free, prepaid card also provides consumer 

protections available to traditional bank account owners, including protections against fraud, 

loss, and other errors.   

http://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-8379
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If you need to return a rebate check sent to someone who died or was otherwise ineligible, 

you will need to follow the following instructions: 

 

If the payment was a paper check: 

1. Write "Void" in the endorsement section on the back of the check. 

2. Mail the voided Treasury check immediately to the appropriate IRS location listed below. 

3. Don't staple, bend, or paper clip the check. 

4. Include a note stating the reason for returning the check.  

If the payment was a paper check and you have cashed it, or if the payment was a direct 

deposit: 

1. Submit a personal check, money order, etc., immediately to the appropriate IRS location 

listed below. 

2. Write on the check/money order made payable to “U.S. Treasury” and write 2020EIP, 

and the taxpayer identification number (social security number, or individual taxpayer 

identification number) of the recipient of the check. 

3. Include a brief explanation of the reason for returning the EIP. 

 

For your paper check, here are the IRS mailing addresses to use based on the state: 

Austin Refund Inquiry Unit 

3651 S Interregional Hwy 35 

Mail Stop 6542  

Austin, TX 78741 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (Food Stamps) Program (SNAP) 

Eligible households may qualify for a debit card which provides an allowance to supplement the 

amount they spend on food. Additional information on eligibility may be found at 

http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/snap-eligibility.  

If someone is not already a SNAP recipient and have a food need, they may apply for benefits 

online. There’s no need to visit a Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 

office.  They can apply online, by mail, or by fax. For more information,  

 text GETSNAP (no spaces) to 898211 

 visit the DCFS website at www.dcfs.la.gov/getSNAP 

 email LAHelpU.DCFS@la.gov, or  

 call 1-888-LA-HELP-U (1-888-524-3578) Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

 

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response 

Act.”  It allows the Secretary of Agriculture to approve state plans to provide additional, 

temporary SNAP benefits to families with eligible children, when their schools close for at least 

five days in a row during a public health emergency. The amount will be based on the 

reimbursement value for free or reduced-price meals for each eligible child in the household.  

The Governor has not announced that he has requested a waiver. 

 

H.R. 6201 also waives federal SNAP work requirements temporarily but maintains work training 

program requirements. Provides that the three-month SNAP participation limit for people who 

http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/snap-eligibility
http://www.dcfs.la.gov/getSNAP
mailto:LAHelpU.DCFS@la.gov


6/8/2020 9:39 AM 

U.S. SENATOR BILL CASSIDY, MD 11 

 

do not satisfy the work requirement will restart one month after the declared pandemic 

emergency has been lifted. 

 

The USDA granted Louisiana a waiver from the mandatory in-person interview of individuals 

with new or renewal applications.   

 

Additional information regarding the impact of the coronavirus on programs offered by the 

DCFS can be found at http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/coronavirus.  

 

The USDA is looking at allowing States to expand SNAP to the maximum benefit for everyone 

eligible.   

 

The Governor has not requested Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (D-SNAP) 

Unemployment Assistance 

Individuals who are unemployed through no fault of their own may apply for regular 

unemployment assistance at https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx or by 

calling (866) 783-5567.  The maximum state benefit is $247 a week. 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) has decided that it will not pay claims to those 

who qualify as a result of the expanded eligibility found in the CARES Act as well as the 

$600/week Pandemic Unemployment benefit included in the CARES Act, until the federal 

government provides funding first.  These applicants will receive a $0 award letter; however, 

LWC will make back payments based on the day they file. 

On April 7, 2020, Louisiana received the Pandemic Unemployment funding.  On April 8, twelve 

days after the CARES Act passed, LWC began formatting the computer system to accept and 

process Pandemic Unemployment claims.  The Governor ordered that the first payments not go 

out until Monday, April 13. 

At this time, LWC has no concerns regarding the solvency of the State Unemployment Trust 

Fund despite the large increase in claims. 

LWC is aware of issues with username and password.  They say to try again. If someone is still 

having difficulty, please email HiRE@lwc.la.gov and provide name, phone and last 4 of your 

SSN.  Call Center hours are 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., 7 days a week. 

Due to the high number of claims being filed, LWC advises filing between 10:00 pm and 4:00 

am.  On April 21, LWC announced that they began restricting access to registering and 

recertifying for unemployment benefits based on an individual’s social security number and the 

day of the week.  Applicants will only have access on days that match their SSN criteria. 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  It includes a Pandemic Unemployment Assistance 

provision that provides: 

 

 Immediate unemployment without the customary one-week waiting period required 

under regular unemployment and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;  

 

 An additional $600 per week on top of the regular state unemployment amount; 

http://www.dss.state.la.us/page/coronavirus
https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx
mailto:HiRE@lwc.la.gov
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 Provides an additional 13 weeks of benefits to those who remain unemployed after state 

unemployment benefits are no longer available; 

 

 Extends eligibility for unemployment to self-employed, independent contractors, and 

those with limited work history; 

 

 Additional qualifications for unemployment which include:   

 

o the individual has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or is experiencing symptoms of 

COVID-19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis; 

 

o a member of the individual’s household has been diagnosed with COVID-19; 

 

o the individual is providing care for a family member diagnosed with COVID-19; 

 

o a person in the household is unable to attend school or another facility that is closed 

as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency; 

 

o the individual is unable to reach the place of employment because of a quarantine 

imposed as a direct result of a COVID-19 outbreak or has been advised by a health 

care provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19; 

 

o the individual was scheduled to begin employment and is no longer employed or is 

unable to reach the job as a direct result of a COVID-19 outbreak; 

 

o the individual has become the breadwinner or major support for a household because 

the head of the household has died as a direct result of COVID-19; 

 

o the individual must quit their job as a direct result of COVID-19; 

 

o the individual’s place of employment is closed as a direct result of COVID-19; or 

 

o the individual is self-employed, is seeking part-time employment, does not have 

sufficient work history, or otherwise would not qualify for regular unemployment 

under state or federal law and becomes unemployed or cannot find work. 

 

The assistance is limited to 39 weeks and will begin on January 27, 2020 and end December 

2020, as long as the covered individual’s unemployment, partial unemployment, or inability to 

work caused by COVID-19 continues. 

 

Additional information for workers and employers regarding the impact of the coronavirus on 

programs offered by the Louisiana Workforce Commission can be found at 

http://www.laworks.net/PublicRelations/COVID_19_Information.asp  

 

http://www.laworks.net/PublicRelations/COVID_19_Information.asp
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Unemployment insurance payments count as income.  Unemployment benefits are counted as 

unearned income for federal tax purposes, and the additional $600 in weekly unemployment 

insurance payments provided by the CARES Act count toward eligibility for means-tested 

benefits (other than Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program). 

 

The U.S. Department of Labor has provide a summary of Key Unemployment Insurance (UI) 

Provisions and Guidance Regarding Temporary Emergency State Staffing Flexibility to the ETA 

Advisory database at https://wdr.doleta.gov/directives/corr_doc.cfm?DOCN=3390. 

Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) 

The USDA is willing to waive the physical, in-person screening of WIC recipients upon the 

recipient and approval of a request from the Governor.  They are providing the States templates 

to use to request this waiver and other potential waivers that would streamline the WIC process. 

Retirement Accounts Rule Changes 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law: 

 

 Waives the 10 percent early withdrawal penalty for any “coronavirus-related distribution” 

up to $100,000; income from the distribution will be taxed over three years, beginning on 

the date the distribution was received. Individuals may repay the distribution over three 

years without triggering that year’s cap on contributions. 

 

A “coronavirus related distribution” means any distribution from an eligible retirement 

made on or after January 1, 2020 and before December 31, 2020; and made to an 

individual diagnosed with the virus (by a CDC-approved test), or whose spouse or 

dependent is diagnosed with the virus; who experiences adverse financial consequences 

as a result of quarantine, furlough, or layoff; who experiences a reduction in hours or 

inability to work due to lack of childcare; or because of other factors determined by the 

Secretary of Treasury. 

 

 Provides for an increase in plan loan limits from $50,000 to $100,000. This increase will 

not be treated as a qualified distribution and delays repayment for loans due between 

enactment and December 31, 2020 for one year. 

 

 Temporarily waives the required minimum distribution rules for certain retirement plans 

and accounts, including 403 (a) and 403 (b) defined contribution plans, 457 (b) defined 

contribution plans (if the plan is maintained by a 457 (e)(1)(A) employer), and individual 

retirement plans. 

Charitable Contributions Income Deductions 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law expands the deductibility of charitable 

contributions. 

 

Eligible taxpayers can deduct up to $300 of cash charitable contributions beginning in 2019. This 

includes taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions. 

https://wdr.doleta.gov/directives/corr_doc.cfm?DOCN=3390


6/8/2020 9:39 AM 

U.S. SENATOR BILL CASSIDY, MD 14 

 

 

For tax year 2020, the limitations on charitable contributions for individuals who itemize their 

contributions is suspended. 

 

Assistance for College Students 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law provides a tax-free student loan repayment 

benefit to employees. The provision applies to any student loan payments made by an employer 

on behalf of an employee after date of enactment and before January 1, 2021. 

 

For students who are unable to complete a semester because of COVID-19, the law provides: 

 The student is not required to repay associated portions of their Pell grants or other loan 

assistance; 

 

 The semester that the student failed to complete will not count toward the student’s 

period of enrollment for purposes of lifetime subsidized loan eligibility; 

 

 The semester that the student failed to complete will not count toward the student’s 

lifetime Pell grant eligibility;  

 

 The student’s grades associated with those credits will not be considered when 

determining whether he or she satisfies the academic requirements to qualify for Pell 

grants or student loans. 

 

Federal student loan payments are suspended through September 30, 2020. During the 

suspension period, interest shall not accrue.  For purposes of federal loan forgiveness programs, 

loan rehabilitation programs, and reporting to consumer reporting agencies, the Department of 

Education will treat each month for which loan payments were suspended as if the borrower had 

made payments.  During the suspension period, all involuntary collection, including wage 

garnishment and reduction of tax refunds, is also suspended. 

Provisions related to the Corporation for National and Community Service 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law provides that participants serving in the National 

Service Corps programs whose service is limited or suspended because of COVID-19 shall be 

allowed to accrue hours that will count toward the total number of hours needed for that 

individual’s educational award. 

 

The Corporation for National and Community Service may extend the term of service for up to 

one year after the national emergency and may waive applicable age limits to allow individuals 

to return to service after the emergency ends.  However, in no case shall the maximum age 

exceed 26 years of age. 

Teach Grant Recipients 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  Under the law, the U.S. Department of Education is 
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authorized to modify the categories of circumstances under which teachers who are recipients of 

TEACH Grants are excused from fulfilling service obligations. Part-time and/or temporarily 

interrupted teaching service shall be considered full-time and shall be deemed to fulfill TEACH 

Grant obligations.  The requirements that years of service be consecutive for teacher loan 

forgiveness are waived if teaching service is interrupted by the COVID-19 emergency and the 

teacher resumes services and completes a total of 5 years of service. 

General Financial Issues 

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has provided the check list below to help 

guide people through some of the financial decisions they will need to make as soon as possible 

following a natural disaster: 

 

o Ask for a copy of your insurance policy if you don’t have one available. It will help you 

verify your coverage. 

o A disaster does not stop your responsibility to pay your mortgage. So you should contact 

your mortgage servicer and tell them about your situation. 

o If you don’t have a monthly mortgage statement or coupon book with you, search the 

Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems (MERS) or call them toll-free at (888) 679-

6377 to find the company that services your mortgage. 

o Take a look at your income and savings and determine how much money you have 

available to pay bills and creditors. 

o If your income is interrupted and you don’t think you will be able to pay your credit cards 

or other loans, be sure to contact your lenders as soon as possible. Explain your situation 

and when you think you will be able to resume normal payments. The important thing is 

to make the calls before your next payments are due. 

o If you are in a presidentially declared disaster area, you may qualify for disaster 

assistance. Check with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for more 

information. 

o Take a look at your bills and set priorities. Your mortgage, rent, and insurance payments 

should stay high on your list. 

Mortgage Assistance 

Unable to Afford Mortgage 

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) notes that a disaster does not stop your 

responsibility to pay your mortgage.  You should contact your mortgage servicer and tell them 

about your situation.  If you don’t have a monthly mortgage statement or coupon book with you, 

search the Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems (MERS) or call them toll-free at (888) 679-

6377 to find the company that services your mortgage. 

 

Assistance with Your Mortgage Company 

People needing assistance with an issue involving their mortgage company should contact a 

HUD Approved Housing Counselor Program by calling (800) 569-4287 or viewing a list of 

counselors at 

www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/hcc/hcs.cfm?&webListAction=search&searchstate=LA   
 

 

 

https://www.mers-servicerid.org/sis/
http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/hcc/hcs.cfm?&webListAction=search&searchstate=LA
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Federally-Backed Mortgages 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law prohibits foreclosures on all federally-backed 

mortgage loans for a 60-day period beginning on March 18, 2020 and provides up to 180 days of 

forbearance for borrowers of a federally backed mortgage loan who have experienced a financial 

hardship related to COVID-19.  During this time only regularly scheduled interest, fees, or 

penalties, as if the borrower made the payment on time, will accrue.  Federally-backed 

mortgages include mortgages insured by the FHA, insured under section 255 of the National 

Housing Act, guaranteed under section 184 or 184A of the Housing and Community 

Development Act of 1992, guaranteed or insured by the VA; made, guaranteed, or insured by the 

USDA; or purchased or securitized by Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae. The authority provided under 

this section terminates on the earlier of the termination date of the national emergency 

concerning the coronavirus or December 31, 2020. 

 

 Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Backed Mortgages 

If you have an FHA backed mortgage and your home or your ability to make your mortgage 

payments were harmed by the disaster, you may qualify for a 90 day Foreclosure Moratorium 

or a Forbearance Plan on your monthly payments.  You must contact your mortgage 

company to discuss your options.  If you are not satisfied with your lender’s response, you 

may call a HUD-approved counseling agency toll free at (800) 569-4287 or contact HUD's 

National Servicing Center. 

 

 Mortgages Backed by Fannie Mae 

Servicers of Fannie Mae mortgages may temporarily suspend or reduce your mortgage 

payments for up to ninety days if a natural disaster has adversely affected the value or 

habitability of your home or if the disaster has temporarily impacted your ability to make 

payments. The servicer may offer forbearance for up to six months, which may be extended 

for an additional six months if you were current or ninety days or less delinquent when the 

disaster occurred.  You should reach out to your servicer as soon as possible for assistance.  

You can also call Fannie Mae directly at 1-800-2FANNIE. 

 

 Mortgages Backed by Freddie Mac 

Servicers of Freddie Mac mortgages may: 

o Offer a Forbearance on your mortgage payment for up to one year 

o Suspended foreclosure for up to one year 

o Waive assessments of penalties or late fees 

o Not report forbearance or delinquencies caused by the disaster to the nation's credit 

bureaus. 

You should contact your mortgage company to request assistance. 

 

 Rural Development Single-Family Housing Loan Borrowers 

Rural Development offers the following servicing options to help families who experience 

financial problems after a disaster: 

o Moratoriums -- a temporary period where no payment is required -- for up to 180 days for 

borrowers who have lost employment, sustained severe property damage or have 

significant medical expenses. 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/housing/sfh/nsc
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/housing/sfh/nsc
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o Reamortization -- rescheduling loan payments to determine a new monthly payment 

amount -- if needed following a moratorium or to resolve an account delinquency. 

 

To request loan servicing assistance, borrowers should contact the Centralized Servicing 

Center at: 

 

USDA Rural Development Centralized Servicing Center 

Attn.: Borrower Assistance Branch, Special Assistance Section 

Post Office Box 66889 

St. Louis, MO 63166 

Phone: (800) 414-1226 

TDD: (800) 438-1832 

 

 Veterans Administration and Loans 

Veterans in need of financial counseling, veterans with VA backed mortgages, and veterans 

interested in a VA guaranteed loan to help with disaster losses may contact a VA Loan 

Technician at 1-877-827-3702. 

National Flood Insurance Premium (NFIP) Grace Period Extension 

There is typically a 30-day grace period to renew National Flood Insurance Program policies to 

avoid a lapse in coverage.  However, due to the widespread economic disruption arising from 

this pandemic, FEMA is extending the grace period to 120 days for polices with an expiration 

date between February 13, 2020 and June 15, 2020.  If a policyholder receives an underpayment 

notice dated between February 13, 2020, and June 15, 2020, then the NFIP insurer must receive 

the additional premium amount requested within 120 days of the date of the notice. 

 

Policyholders who need additional time to pay their premiums, beyond the 120-day extension, 

should contact their agent or insurer to inquire about other options the insurer may offer for 

premium payment. 

Temporary Moratorium on Eviction from Federally-Backed Rental Properties 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law restricts landlords for 120 days beginning on the 

date of the legislation from initiating legal action to recover possession of a rental unit or charge 

fees, penalties, or other charges to tenants related to nonpayment of rent if the landlord’s 

mortgage on that property is insured, guaranteed, supplemented, protected, or assisted in any 

way by HUD, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the rural housing voucher program, or the Violence 

Against Women Act of 1994. 

Mass Treatment Facility at Morial Convention Center 

In anticipation of the hospitals in New Orleans reaching capacity the first of April, on March 25, 

the State began converting the Morial Convention Center into a mass treatment facility for 

coronavirus patients.  Due to logistical and contract concerns, as similar plan to use hotels was 

not selected. 
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Quarantine Shelters 

Individuals who need to be quarantined but do not require hospitalization and do not have a safe 

place to stay or live with vulnerable individuals will be sent to Quarantine Shelters run by the 

State.  Placement is made by the State.  Individuals cannot just show up.  LDH is in the process 

of identifying additional locations as needed.  The shelters will be funded by FEMA. 

 

Bayou Segnette State Park 
7777 Westbank Expy. 

Westwego, LA 70094 

Lake Bistineau State Park 

103 State Park Rd. 

Doyline, LA 71023 

Chicot State Park 

3469 Chicot Park Rd. 

 Ville Platte, LA 70586 

 

FEMA Individual Assistance (IA) – Limited to Crisis Counseling Assistance 

At this time, there is no FEMA Individual Assistance.  On March 24, 2020, the Governor 

submitted a request for a Disaster Declaration which includes Individual Assistance.  In addition 

to the more familiar repair and personal property assistance, FEMA offers what is termed “Other 

Needs Assistance” that could potential help coronavirus victims.  The maximum amount of other 

needs assistance is limited to $35,500 during Fiscal Year 2020; however, some forms have 

individual limits. 

 

FEMA IA Other Needs Assistance 

Other Needs Assistance provides grants for uninsured, disaster‐related necessary expenses 

and serious needs.  Assistance includes: 

 

 Medical and dental expenses (Requested by the Governor) 

 Funeral and burial costs (Requested by the Governor) 

 Repair, cleaning, or replacement of: 

o Clothing 

o Household items (room furnishings, appliances) 

o Specialized tools or protective clothing and equipment required for your job 

o Necessary educational materials (computers, school books, supplies) 

 Clean‐up items (wet/dry vacuum, air purifier, dehumidifier)  

 Fuel for primary heat source (heating oil, gas) 

 Repairing or replacing vehicles damaged by the disaster, or providing for public 

transportation or other transportation costs 

 Moving and storage expenses related to the disaster (including storage or the return of 

property to a pre‐disaster home) 

 Other necessary expenses or serious needs (for example, towing, or setup or 

connecting essential utilities for a housing unit not provided by FEMA) (Requested 

by the Governor) 

 The cost of a National Flood Insurance Program group flood insurance policy to meet 

the flood insurance requirements 
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Other Services Available When FEMA Individual Assistance Is Available 

 

Mass Care and Emergency Assistance (MC/EA) 

Mass Care is composed of seven services known as activities: sheltering; feeding; 

distribution of emergency supplies; support for individuals with disabilities and others 

with access and functional needs; reunification services for adults and children; support 

for household pets, service, and assistance animals; and mass evacuee support. In 

addition to the seven aforementioned activities, MC/EA also supports the National Mass 

Care Exercise (NMCE) training program and offers partnerships through the following 

programs: Blue Roof Program and Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA). 

 

Crisis Counseling Assistance and Training Program (CCP) (Requested by the 

Governor on March 24, Granted by President on March 24, 2020) 
CCP provides eligible STTLs governments, and non-governmental organizations with 

supplemental funding to assist disaster-impacted individuals and communities in 

recovering from the major disasters through the provision of community-based outreach 

and psycho-educational services. The goal is to aid survivors in recovering from the 

adverse reactions to disasters and to begin to rebuild their lives. 

 

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) (Requested by the Governor on March 

24) 
 DUA provides unemployment benefits and re-employment assistance services to eligible 

survivors affected by a Presidentially-declared major disaster. These services are under 

the responsibility of the U.S. Department of Labor and administered by the state, 

territorial, tribal, and local government emergency management officials of the affected 

area(s). DUA is only available to those eligible survivors who are not eligible for regular 

state unemployment insurance (UI). Individuals who are unable to work as a result of the 

disaster may register for disaster unemployment assistance by calling (866) 783-5567 or 

online at https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx.  

 

Disaster Legal Services (DLS) 
DLS provides legal aid to survivors affected by a Presidentially-declared major disaster 

through an agreement with the Young Lawyers Division (YLD) of the American Bar 

Association. DLS is put into effect during Presidentially-declared disasters and is 

available to survivors who qualify as low-income. 

 

Disaster Case Management (DCM) (Requested by the Governor on March 24) 

DCM is a time-limited process that promotes partnership between a case manager and a 

disaster survivor in order to assess and address a survivor’s verified disaster-caused 

unmet needs through a disaster recovery plan. This disaster recovery plan includes 

resources, decision-making priorities, providing guidance and tools to assist disaster 

survivors.  

 

Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance (Food Stamps) Program (D-SNAP) 

D-SNAP allows households not normally eligible for SNAP to qualify as a result of their 

disaster-related expenses, such as loss of income, damage to property, relocation 

https://www.louisianaworks.net/hire/vosnet/Default.aspx
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expenses, and, in some cases, loss of food due to power outages.  This is an optional 

program left to the discretion of the Governor to participate.  For more information, one 

may call the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCSF) at 1-888-

524-3578. 

 

Registration will likely be available at https://dsnap.dcfs.la.gov/ or calling 1-888-524-

3578  

To receive DSNAP benefits, you will need to provide: 

Name, Social Security Number and Date of Birth for each household member 

Current address and parish of household 

Monthly income for each household member 

All liquid assets for each household member (cash on hand, checking, savings) 

 

D-SNAP benefits are issued for one month, but they can be used for up to 365 days. 

 

Community Development Block Grant for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) 

Congress may provide CDBG-DR funding should the damages be severe.  CDBG-DR funding is 

not guaranteed and is often passed months after a disaster.   

 

Duplication of Benefits (DOB) 

When the federal government first became involved in providing disaster assistance in the 60s 

and 70s, it relied on loans and added grants to assist those that could not qualify a loan or a loan 

large enough to meet all of their needs.  To ensure no one received more in assistance than their 

actual losses, DOB rules were put in place that say before an agency can provide federal funds to 

a disaster victim, they must first determine their loss and subtract any assistance they have 

already received from insurance, charities, federal and state grants and loans, or other sources.   

 

The DOB rules apply separately to each form of assistance (i.e. repairs, contents, travel, rental 

assistance, etc.).  For example, assistance received for contents and rental assistance, do not 

count towards assistance one would receive for repairs. 

 

In October 2018, after Senator Cassidy blocked a vote unless a DOB repeal was included in the 

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization / Disaster Recovery Reform Act of 

2018 bill, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law a temporary repeal of the DOB 

rule.  The repeal covers a DOB between SBA loans and Community Development Block Grant 

for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funds for disasters declared between January 1, 2016 and 

December 31, 2021.  The full HUD rule implementing the repeal can be found at 

https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/Main/documents/6169-N-01_Main_DOB_Notice.pdf.    

https://dsnap.dcfs.la.gov/
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/Main/documents/6169-N-01_Main_DOB_Notice.pdf
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Assistance for Businesses 

 

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) 

Assistance 

The Small Business Administration has separate authority to declare a disaster even when FEMA 

does not declare one.  The Governor submitted a request to the SBA on March 18, 2020 covering 

Jefferson and Orleans Parishes and later submitted an amended request for the whole state.  The 

SBA approved the request for all parishes on March 19, 2020.  The disaster allowed Economic 

Injury Disaster Loans.  The deadline to apply is December 21, 2020. 

 

The SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) offer up to $2 million in assistance and can 

provide vital economic support to small businesses to help overcome the temporary loss of 

revenue they are experiencing.  Due to the high number of applications and the requested 

amounts exceeding the available appropriations, the SBA is scaling back the maximum 

award to ensure more applicants can receive some funding.  These loans may be used to pay 

fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that can’t be paid because of the disaster’s 

impact. The SBA offers loans with long-term repayments in order to keep payments affordable, 

up to a maximum of 30 years. The terms are determined on a case-by-case basis, based upon 

each borrower’s ability to repay. 

 

Businesses needing assistance with SBA Disaster Assistance Loans may contact the SBA 

Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center.  Business may visit an SBA Business Recovery 

Center, if offered for personalized help. 

 

Interest Rates are 3.750% for Business & Small Ag Coops and 2.750% for Non-Profits.  

 

An application may be declined for the following reasons: lack of repayment ability, lack of 

repayment ability based on forecast, unsatisfactory history on an existing or previous SBA loan, 

unsatisfactory history on a Federal obligation, unsatisfactory credit history, unsatisfactory debt 

payment history (other than a credit bureau), and economic injury is not substantiated.  An 

application may be withdrawn when requested information is not furnished within the allowed 

timeframe.  

 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law allows EIDL loans made between January 31, 

2020 and the date Paycheck Protection Program loans to be refinanced as part of a paycheck 

protection loan.  The law allow allows the deferment interest for 4 years. 

 

Due to the high number of applications, the SBA is estimating it will take 2-3 weeks to process 

an application.  Applications are processed on a first in, first processed basis and is not expedited 

applications.  Payments should go out within 5 days of approval. 

 

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) Grant 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law establishes an emergency grant to allow small 
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business and nonprofits that apply for an EIDL loan to request an advance on that loan, of up to 

$10,000, which the SBA must distribute within 3 days.  EIDLs taken out between January 31, 

2020, and December 31, 2020, are eligible. 

The following entities are eligible: 

 small businesses with fewer than 500 employees including sole proprietors and 

independent contractors; 

 private nonprofit organizations, and small agricultural cooperatives; 

 cooperatives or ESOPs with fewer than 500 employees; and, 

 tribal businesses described in section 31(b)(2)(C) of the Small Business Act with no more 

than 500 employees. 

There is no requirement to repay an advance, even if denied a loan.  

The grant may be used to: 

 provide paid sick leave to employees;  

 maintain payroll;  

 address increased costs to obtain materials, and rent and mortgage payments; and, 

 repay obligations unmet due to revenue loss.  

The advance amount will be reduced from the loan forgiveness amount for recipients who 

transfers into, or is approved for, the loan program under section 7(a), the Paycheck Protection 

Program. 

 

Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) under SBA Section 7(a)  

Due to a filibuster by Senate Democrats and the House Democrats leaving Washington until May 

4, Congress was unable to pass a bill to provide additional funding to the PPP before it ran out of 

funding the evening of April 15, 2020. 

 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law authorizes the SBA to provide a new category of 

7(a) loans.  These loans of up to $10 million are 100% federally guaranteed with zero-fees. 

Eligible Applicants: 

 Small business with no more than 500 employees; 

 Sole proprietors, independent contractors, and certain self-employed individuals; 

 Businesses with more than one physical location, but fewer than 500 employees at 

each site, in the accommodation and food services industries (i.e., classified as 

“Accommodation and Food Services” by NAICS); 

 tribal businesses described in section 31(b)(2)(C) of the Small Business Act with 

no more than 500 employees; 

 Non-profit 501(c)(3) organizations; and, 

 “Veteran organizations,” as defined in section 501(c)(19) of the Internal Revenue 

Code. 

Covered Period: Loans taken out between February 15, 2020, and June 30, 2020.  
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Loan Amount: The maximum size of these loans will be $10 million; however, the size 

of these loans will be subject to a formula that is the equivalent of 250% of an employer’s 

average monthly payroll. 

Interest Terms: Interest is capped at 4%. 

Forgiveness: If the business retains (or rehires) its employees and maintains their pay, 

the portion of the loan spent within the first 8 weeks after receipt of funds are forgivable 

if spent on the following eligible expenses: 

 “Payroll costs”;  

 Costs related to the continuation of group health care benefits, like paid sick, 

family, or medical leave;  

 Insurance premiums;  

 Salaries wages;  

 Commissions, cash, etc., compensation to sole proprietors or independent 

contractors (including commission-based compensation) up to $100,000 in 1 year, 

prorated for the covered period;  

 Interest on any mortgage obligation;  

 Rent;  

 Utilities; and, 

 The interest on other debt obligations.  

“Payroll costs” do not include individual employee compensation in excess of a salary of 

$100,000 per year, prorated for the covered period; compensation for an employee whose 

principal place of residence is outside the United States; certain taxes; and qualified sick 

and family leave subject to other credits.  

The amount of funds eligible for forgiveness will be reduced for employers terminating 

employees and cutting wages during the covered period.  Employers who rehire 

employees previously laid off will not be penalized for having a reduced payroll at the 

beginning of the covered period. 

Employers with tipped employees may receive forgiveness for additional wages paid to 

tipped employees. 

The forgiveness application is at https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/136/3245-0407-

SBA-Form-3508-PPP-Forgiveness-Application.pdf.  

Deferment of Loan Payments: Repayment of principal and interest may be deferred for 

a period not less than 6 months and up to one year. 

Collateral and Personal Guarantee Requirements: The CARES Act waives these 

requirements. 

Fees and Penalties: The CARES Act waives application fees and pre-payment penalties. 

Where to Apply: Loans will be available immediately through existing SBA-certified 

lenders. Many additional lenders will be brought into the program over the next few 

weeks.  A list of participating lenders in Louisiana may be found at 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-

https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/136/3245-0407-SBA-Form-3508-PPP-Forgiveness-Application.pdf
https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/136/3245-0407-SBA-Form-3508-PPP-Forgiveness-Application.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-04/Lenders%20participating%20in%20PPP%20by%20State_As%20of%2004%2023%2020.pdf
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04/Lenders%20participating%20in%20PPP%20by%20State_As%20of%2004%2023%20

20.pdf  

Other Terms: Any loan amount not forgiven will have a loan term of not more than ten 

years, with a maximum interest rate of 4%.  There are limits on receiving a Paycheck 

Protection Program loan and an EIDL loan.  An EIDL loan made between January 31, 

2020 and the date Paycheck Protection Program loans are available may be refinanced as 

part of a paycheck protection loan. 

The SBA and Treasury have information on the program at https://www.sba.gov/funding-

programs/loans/paycheck-protection-program-ppp and https://home.treasury.gov/cares and 

https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/top-priorities/cares-act/assistance-for-small-businesses.  

A sample form can be found at https://www.sba.gov/document/sba-form--paycheck-protection-

program-ppp-sample-application-form. 

On June 5, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 7010, the Paycheck Protection Program 

Flexibility Act.  The law makes the following changes to the PPP program: 

Deadline to use loans extended: H.R. 7010 extends the timeframe to use loans for 

reimbursable expenses (the “covered period”) from 8 weeks to 24 weeks or December 31, 

2020, whichever comes earlier.  If preferred, existing borrowers can keep the 8 week timeline. 

Additional flexibility in rehiring employees: The CARES Act requires borrowers to restore 

staffing and wages to pre-Coronavirus levels for full loan forgiveness.  H.R. 7010 extends the 

deadline to do this from June 30 to December 31, 2020.  H.R. 7010 also creates exceptions if: 

 The company is unable to rehire employees or find similarly qualified employees or; 

 The company is unable to operate at February 15, 2020 levels due to Coronavirus 

restrictions. 

Payroll expenditure requirement reduced: The CARES Act required borrowers to use at 

least 75% of loans on payroll costs to be fully eligible for reimbursement.  H.R. 7010 reduces 

the payroll expenditure requirement from 75% to 60%.  One important difference: under the 

CARES Act, if a borrower spent less than 75% of their loan on payroll, they would still be 

partially reimbursed.  Under H.R. 7010, if less than 60% of the loan is spent on payroll, none 

of the loan will be forgiven.  Some members of Congress have said this is unintentional and 

hope to fix it by technical corrections or Small Business Administration (SBA) guidance. 

Application deadline unchanged: H.R. 7010 does not extend the application deadline of 

June 30, 2020. 

Payroll tax delay allowed: H.R. 7010 allows borrowers to delay payment of 2020 payroll 

taxes, 50% to the end of 2021 and 50% to the end of 2022. 

Loan repayment timeline delayed: H.R. 7010 extends the maturity date of portions of loans 

that are not reimbursed from 2 years to 5 years.  Additionally, the CARES Act required 

lenders to defer payments of interest and principle for 6 months.  H.R. 7010 allows deferral 

until whenever the lender receives the forgiveness amount from the Small Business 

Administration. 

 

 

https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-04/Lenders%20participating%20in%20PPP%20by%20State_As%20of%2004%2023%2020.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2020-04/Lenders%20participating%20in%20PPP%20by%20State_As%20of%2004%2023%2020.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/funding-programs/loans/paycheck-protection-program-ppp
https://www.sba.gov/funding-programs/loans/paycheck-protection-program-ppp
https://home.treasury.gov/cares
https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/top-priorities/cares-act/assistance-for-small-businesses
https://www.sba.gov/document/sba-form--paycheck-protection-program-ppp-sample-application-form
https://www.sba.gov/document/sba-form--paycheck-protection-program-ppp-sample-application-form
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SBA Loan Payment Subsidy 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law authorizes the SBA to pay the principal, interest, 

and fees for six months for 7(a) loans, 504 loans, or microloan, originated before the enactment 

date of the measure, but excluding the Paycheck Protection Program.  This relief is likewise 

available for new borrowers who take out an SBA loan within six months after the President 

signs the CARES Act into law. 

 

SBA Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center 

Phone: (800) 659-2955     

Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals: (800) 877-8339 

E-mail: disastercustomerservice@sba.gov Online: https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/  

 

SBA Business Recovery Centers (BRC) 

The SBA will likely not open BRCs.  Assistance and information on the SBA’s Coronavirus 

Assistance may be found at https://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-

guidance-loan-resources.   

 

Louisiana Small Business Development Center 

The Center is offering assistance and advice to businesses navigating the SBA loan process and 

other forms of disaster assistance. 

 
State Office 

(866) 782-4159 

Lasbdc@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdc    

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdc  

 

Acadiana Region 

University of Louisiana at Lafayette 

(337) 482-6312 

lsbdc.ull@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcull   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdcull  

 

Parishes Served: Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, 

Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and 

Vermilion 

 

Baton Rouge Region 

Southern University 

(225) 771-2891 

lsbdc.subr@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcsubr  

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdcsubr  

 

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, 

East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West 

Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana 

  

 

 

 

Baton Rouge Region 

Capital Region Office 

(225) 615-8932  

lsbdc.cr@lsbdc.org 

 

 

 

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, 

East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West 

Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana 

 

mailto:disastercustomerservice@sba.gov
https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/
https://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-guidance-loan-resources
https://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-guidance-loan-resources
mailto:Lasbdc@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdc
https://twitter.com/lsbdc
mailto:lsbdc.ull@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcull
https://twitter.com/lsbdcull
mailto:lsbdc.subr@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcsubr
https://twitter.com/lsbdcsubr
mailto:lsbdc.cr@lsbdc.org
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Baton Rouge Region 

Baton Rouge Satellite Office 

(985) 493-2587  

lsbdc.nic@lsbdc.org  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcnic  

    

 

Parishes Served: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, 

East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West 

Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana 

 

 

Greater New Orleans Region 

Xavier University of Louisiana 

(504) 831-3730 

lsbdc.gnor@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcgnor   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdcgnor  

 

Parishes Served: Assumption, Jefferson, 

Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. 

Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and 

Terrebonne. 

 

Northeast Region 

University of Louisiana Monroe 

(318) 342-1224 

lsbdc.ulm@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdculm   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdculm  

 

Parishes Served: Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, 

East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln, 

Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, 

Union, and West Carroll 

 

Northshore Region 

Southeastern Louisiana University 

(985) 549-3831 

Lsbdc.selu@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcslu  

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdcslu  

 

Parishes Served: Livingston, St. Helena, St. 

Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington 

 

Northwest & Central Region 

Bossier Parish Community College 

(318) 678-6142 

lsbdc.nwcr@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nwcrla/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LSBDCNWCR  

 

Parishes Served: Avoyelles, Bienville, Bossier, 

Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, Natchitoches, 

Rapides, Sabine, Vernon, Red River, Webster and 

Winn 

 

Southwest Louisiana Region 

McNeese State University 

(337) 475-5529 

lsbdc.msu@lsbdc.org 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcmsu   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lsbdcmsu  

 

Parishes Served: Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, 

Cameron, and Jefferson Davis 

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Assistance 

On April 1, 2020, the Chamber published a pamphlet entitled “Coronavirus Emergency Loans: 

Small Business Guide and Checklist” to assist businesses applying for the disaster-related loans.  

The guide can be found at 

https://www.uschamber.com/sites/default/files/023595_comm_corona_virus_smallbiz_loan_fina

l.pdf?mc_cid=8da01cde68&mc_eid=42c428c907. 

 

Coronavirus 10-Day Paid Sick Leave and Paid Child Care Leave Tax Credits 

On March 18, the President signed into law H.R.6201, the “Families First Coronavirus Response 

Act.”  The law provides tax credits to employers with less than 500 employees for the purpose of 

financing paid leave to individuals who are sick with the coronavirus or have to stay home to 

take care of a child due to a closed school or day care center. 

 

mailto:lsbdc.nic@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcnic
mailto:lsbdc.gnor@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcgnor
https://twitter.com/lsbdcgnor
mailto:lsbdc.ulm@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdculm
https://twitter.com/lsbdculm
mailto:Lsbdc.selu@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcslu
https://twitter.com/lsbdcslu
mailto:lsbdc.nwcr@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/nwcrla/
https://twitter.com/LSBDCNWCR
mailto:lsbdc.msu@lsbdc.org
https://www.facebook.com/lsbdcmsu
https://twitter.com/lsbdcmsu
https://www.uschamber.com/sites/default/files/023595_comm_corona_virus_smallbiz_loan_final.pdf?mc_cid=8da01cde68&mc_eid=42c428c907
https://www.uschamber.com/sites/default/files/023595_comm_corona_virus_smallbiz_loan_final.pdf?mc_cid=8da01cde68&mc_eid=42c428c907
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Paid Sick Leave for Workers – First 10 Days 

The law provides that employees of eligible employers can receive two weeks (up to 80 

hours) of paid sick leave at 100% of the employee’s pay where the employee is unable to 

work because the employee is quarantined, and/or experiencing COVID19 symptoms, and 

seeking a medical diagnosis. 

 

Paid Child Care/Sick Leave– First 10 Days 
The law provides that employees of eligible employers can receive two weeks (up to 80 

hours) of paid Child Care/Sick Leave at 2/3 the employee’s pay where the employee is unable 

to work because of a need to care for an individual subject to quarantine, to care for a child 

whose school is closed or child care provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID19 

 

Additional Leave beyond the First 10 Days 

An employee who is unable to work due to a need to care for a child whose school is closed 

or child care provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID19, may in some instances 

receive up to an additional ten weeks of expanded paid family and medical leave at 2/3 the 

employee’s pay. 

 

Complete Coverage 

Employers receive 100% reimbursement for paid leave pursuant to the Act. 

o Employer contributions to health insurance costs are also included in the credit. 

o Employers face no payroll tax liability including 1.45% Medicare tax. 

o Self-employed individuals receive an equivalent credit. 

 

Fast Funds 

Reimbursement will be quick and easy to obtain. 

o An immediate dollar-for-dollar tax offset against payroll taxes will be provided 

o Where a refund is owed, the IRS will send the refund as quickly as possible. 

 

Small Business Protection 

Employers with fewer than 50 employees are eligible for an exemption from the requirements 

to provide leave to care for a child whose school is closed or child care is unavailable in cases 

where the viability of the business is threatened. 

 

 

 

Easing Compliance 

o Requirements subject to 30-day non-enforcement period for good faith compliance 

efforts. 

 

To take immediate advantage of the paid leave credits, businesses can retain and access funds 

that they would otherwise pay to the IRS in payroll taxes. If those amounts are not sufficient 

to cover the cost of paid leave, employers can seek an expedited advance from the IRS by 

submitting a streamlined claim form that will be released next week. 
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Paid Sick Leave Credit Limit 

For an employee who is unable to work because of Coronavirus quarantine or self-quarantine 

or has Coronavirus symptoms and is seeking a medical diagnosis, eligible employers may 

receive a refundable sick leave credit for sick leave at the employee’s regular rate of pay, up 

to $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggregate, for a total of 10 days. 

 

Child Care/Sick Leave Credit Limit 

For an employee who is caring for someone with Coronavirus, or is caring for a child because 

the child’s school or child care facility is closed, or the child care provider is unavailable due 

to the Coronavirus, eligible employers may claim a credit for two-thirds of the employee’s 

regular rate of pay, up to $200 per day and $2,000 in the aggregate, for up to 10 days. Eligible 

employers are entitled to an additional tax credit determined based on costs to maintain health 

insurance coverage for the eligible employee during the leave period. 

 

Additional Child Care/Sick Leave Credit 

In addition to the sick leave credit, for an employee who is unable to work because of a need 

to care for a child whose school or child care facility is closed or whose child care provider is 

unavailable due to the Coronavirus, eligible employers may receive a refundable child care 

leave credit. This credit is equal to two-thirds of the employee’s regular pay, capped at $200 

per day or $10,000 in the aggregate. Up to 10 weeks of qualifying leave can be counted 

towards the child care leave credit. Eligible employers are entitled to an additional tax credit 

determined based on costs to maintain health insurance coverage for the eligible employee 

during the leave period. 

 

Prompt Payment for the Cost of Providing Leave 

When employers pay their employees, they are required to withhold from their employees’ 

paychecks federal income taxes and the employees' share of Social Security and Medicare 

taxes.  The employers then are required to deposit these federal taxes, along with their share 

of Social Security and Medicare taxes, with the IRS and file quarterly payroll tax returns 

(Form 941 series) with the IRS. 

 

Under guidance that will be released next week, eligible employers who pay qualifying sick 

or child care leave will be able to retain an amount of the payroll taxes equal to the amount of 

qualifying sick and child care leave that they paid, rather than deposit them with the IRS. 

 

The payroll taxes that are available for retention include withheld federal income taxes, the 

employee share of Social Security and Medicare taxes, and the employer share of Social 

Security and Medicare taxes with respect to all employees. 

If there are not sufficient payroll taxes to cover the cost of qualified sick and child care leave 

paid, employers will be able file a request for an accelerated payment from the IRS. The IRS 

expects to process these requests in two weeks or less. The details of this new, expedited 

procedure will be announced next week. 

 

Examples 

1) If an eligible employer paid $5,000 in sick leave and is otherwise required to deposit 

$8,000 in payroll taxes, including taxes withheld from all its employees, the employer 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f941.pdf
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could use up to $5,000 of the $8,000 of taxes it was going to deposit for making qualified 

leave payments. The employer would only be required under the law to deposit the 

remaining $3,000 on its next regular deposit date. 

 

2) If an eligible employer paid $10,000 in sick leave and was required to deposit $8,000 in 

taxes, the employer could use the entire $8,000 of taxes in order to make qualified leave 

payments, and file a request for an accelerated credit for the remaining $2,000. 

 

3) Equivalent child care leave and sick leave credit amounts are available to self-employed 

Individuals under similar circumstances. These credits will be claimed on their income 

tax return and will reduce estimated tax payments. 

 

Small Business Exemption 

Small businesses with fewer than 50 employees will be eligible for an exemption from the 

leave requirements relating to school closings or child care unavailability where the 

requirements would jeopardize the ability of the business to continue. The exemption will be 

available on the basis of simple and clear criteria that make it available in circumstances 

involving jeopardy to the viability of an employer’s business as a going concern. The U.S. 

Department of Labor will provide emergency guidance and rulemaking to clearly articulate 

this standard. 

 

Self-Employed 

There’s a parallel regime for the self-employed, and they can calculate an equivalent amount 

to the $511 per-day, or the $200 per-day respective caps. This then becomes an income 

amount that self-employed are treated as if they’re paying to themselves while they receive 

the corresponding employer credit. With the disaster declaration, the disaster unemployment 

assistance program does allow for self-employed individuals to qualify as if they were a 

terminated employee, in order to qualify for unemployment. 

 

Non-Enforcement Period 

The U.S. Department of Labor will be issuing a temporary non-enforcement policy that 

provides a period of time for employers to come into compliance with the Act.  Under this 

policy, Labor will not bring an enforcement action against any employer for violations of the 

Act so long as the employer has acted reasonably and in good faith to comply with the Act.  

Labor will instead focus on compliance assistance during the 30-day period. 

Additional Information 

For more information about these credits and other relief, visit Coronavirus Tax Relief on 

IRS.gov.  

 

Compliance Assistance and Help 

The IRS and posted an extensive compliance assistance page and FAQ regarding this leave at 

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/covid-19-related-tax-credits-for-required-paid-leave-provided-

by-small-and-midsize-businesses-faqs#sick_leave. 

 

https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus
http://www.irs.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/covid-19-related-tax-credits-for-required-paid-leave-provided-by-small-and-midsize-businesses-faqs#sick_leave
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/covid-19-related-tax-credits-for-required-paid-leave-provided-by-small-and-midsize-businesses-faqs#sick_leave
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The U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD) posted a temporary rule 

issuing regulations pursuant to this new law, effective today, April 1, 2020, at 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/Pandemic/FFCRA.pdf   

 

WHD will post a recorded webinar on Friday, April 3, 2020, to provide interested parties a 

more in-depth description and help them learn more about the FFCRA.  To view the 

webinar, visit https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic. 

 

WHD offers a number of plain-language compliance assistance materials to explain these 

benefits and requirements. The tools include a Fact Sheet for Employees and a Fact Sheet 

for Employers, available in both English and Spanish, and an expansive list of Questions 

and Answers addressing the questions WHD has most frequently received from 

stakeholders to date. Available guidance also includes two new posters, one for federal 

workers and one for all other employees, available in both English and Spanish, that will 

fulfill notice requirements for employers obligated to inform employees about their rights 

under this new law, Questions and Answers about posting requirements, and a Field 

Assistance Bulletin describing WHD’s 30-day non-enforcement policy.  

  

WHD provides additional information on common issues employers and employees face 

when responding to COVID-19 and its effects on wages and hours worked under the Fair 

Labor Standards Act and job-protected leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act at 
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic. 

 

Employee Retention Credit 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law provides an optional refundable employer 

payroll tax credit of 50% of wages on the first $10k of wages per employee. Eligible wages are 

those incurred March 13th through end of the year.   

 

For eligible employers with more than 100 full-time employees, qualified wages are wages paid 

to employees when they are not providing services due to the COVID-19-related circumstances.  

 

For eligible employers with 100 or fewer full-time employees, all employee wages qualify for 

the credit if: 1) they had to close subject to a government shutdown order; or 2) their gross 

receipts dropped by 50% from the same period in 2019. 

 

If the employer is paying sick or family leave under H.R. 6201, the employer doesn’t get to take 

the same wages into account for the purposes of this credit. 

 

Employers can add a pro rata share of health expenses in addition to wages.  

 

What businesses qualify for the employee retention credit? Any employer, regardless of 

size, is eligible for the credit during calendar year 2020 if the business: (1) is fully or partially 

suspended due to a governmental order related to COVID-19, or (2) experiences a significant 

decline in gross receipts (i.e., a reduction of 50 percent of gross receipts from the same quarter 

in 2019). The credit also applies to tax-exempt organizations if the operation of the 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/Pandemic/FFCRA.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employee-paid-leave
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employer-paid-leave
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employer-paid-leave
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/posters/FFCRA_Poster_WH1422_Federal.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/posters/FFCRA_Poster_WH1422_Federal.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/posters/FFCRA_Poster_WH1422_Non-Federal.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-poster-questions
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/field-assistance-bulletins/2020-1
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/field-assistance-bulletins/2020-1
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic
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organization is fully or partially suspended due to the circumstances described in (1) above. 

The credit generally does not apply to governmental employers, including the U.S. 

Government, state and local governments, or any agency of the foregoing.  

  
Is the credit limited to businesses affected by COVID-19? Yes. The credit only applies to 

qualified wages paid by a business whose operations have been fully or partially suspended 

pursuant to a governmental order related to COVID-19, or have experienced a significant 

decline (i.e., 50 percent) in gross receipts, as described above, during the period from March 

13, 2020 through December 31, 2020.   

  
Does the credit only apply to small businesses? No. For eligible employers with 100 or 

fewer full-time employees, the credit applies to all employee wages. In contrast, eligible 

employers with greater than 100 full-time employees may only take into account qualified 

wages paid to employees when they are not providing services due to a governmental order 

related to COVID-19.  

  

How much is the credit? How is it calculated? The credit is equal to 50 percent of the 

qualified wages paid by the employer with respect to each employee. The amount of qualified 

wages with respect to any employee for all calendar quarters in 2020 cannot exceed 

$10,000.  In other words, there is a $10,000 total cap on the credit per employee for the 2020 

tax year.  

  

How much of an employee’s compensation counts toward the credit? Do health care 

costs count? The definition of qualified wages differs depending on the size of the business. 

For employers with more than 100 full-time employees, qualified wages include wages paid 

to employees when they are not providing services due to a governmental order related to 

COVID-19.  If an employee is performing services on a reduced schedule, wages paid to the 

employee are only treated as qualified wages if they exceed what the employee would have 

otherwise been paid for the services performed. In that case, employers will receive a credit 

for the difference between the total wages paid to the employee and the amount the employer 

would have paid for the reduced hours or services actually provided by the employee. 

  

For eligible employers with 100 or fewer full-time employees, all employee wages qualify for 

the credit, whether or not the employee is providing services to the employer.  

  
Regardless of business size, qualified wages include certain healthcare costs paid by an 

employer to maintain a group health plan. 

  

Qualified wages do not include wages taken into account for purposes of the payroll tax credit 

for required paid sick leave or paid family leave as provided in Division G of H.R. 6201, the 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). This exception prevents both credits from 

applying to the same wages paid by an employer.  

  

Does it matter if the business is a corporation? Does it apply to limited liability 

companies (LLCs), S corporations, partnerships, and sole proprietors? The credit is 

available to corporations as well as pass-through entities, such as LLCs, S corporations, 
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partnerships, and sole proprietors. The credit also is available to most tax-exempt 

organizations. Although the credit is available to all entity types, the business must meet the 

eligibility requirements – see Q&A1 above. 

  
Do I have to wait until my business files its 2020 tax return to claim the credit? No. The 

tax credit may be claimed against the employer portion of employment taxes, including Social 

Security and Railroad Retirement payroll taxes. To the extent the credit exceeds the employer 

portion of employment taxes due, the credit is treated as an overpayment and is refundable to 

the employer. The IRS is expected to provide guidance regarding the process for claiming the 

credit and receiving the refund. See Coronavirus Tax Relief on the IRS.gov website.  

  
Does the business have to pay back the credit? No. As long as the employer meets the 

requirements for the credit (described in the Q&As above), the employer does not have to 

repay the credit or the resulting refunds. 

  

What if the business claims the FFCRA credit for mandatory sick leave and/or family 

leave? If the business claims the FFCRA credit for mandatory sick leave and/or family leave, 

the wages associated with the FFCRA credit are not eligible as qualified wages for the 

employee retention credit. This prevents both credits from applying to the same wages paid by 

an employer. 

  

Is the credit available if the business receives one of the new SBA loans under the 

CARES Act? The credit is not available to employers receiving a small business interruption 

loan under the SBA’s Paycheck Protection Program (CARES Act section 1102). 

  
How long is the credit available? The credit is available for qualified wages paid from 

March 13, 2020 through December 31, 2020. 

  
Where can I get more information on the Employer Retention Credit? The IRS is 

expected to provide guidance regarding the credit, which will be available on the IRS.gov 

website – see Coronavirus Tax Relief. 

 

Delay of Payment of Employer Payroll Taxes 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law defers employer payroll taxes, with half of the 

amount required to be paid by December 31, 2021 and the other half by December 31, 2022.   

 

The delay does not apply for businesses that have had indebtedness forgiven under the Paycheck 

Protection Program.  

 

Tax Modifications for Net Operating Losses 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law relaxes the limitations on a company’s use of 

operating losses in previous years by providing that a loss from 2018, 2019, or 2020 can be 

carried back by five years preceding the loss, allowing the taxpayer to apply the net operating 

https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus
https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus
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loss against any taxable income to get a tax refund, and by removing the taxable income 

limitation to allow net operating losses (NOLs) to fully offset income.  

 

The CARES Act also modifies the limitation on losses for taxpayers other than corporations such 

that the net operating loss carryback rules described above in Sec. 2303 also apply to these non-

corporate taxpayers. 

 

Tax Modification of Credit for Prior-Year Minimum Tax Liability of Corporations 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law accelerates the corporate alternative minimum 

tax credit. 

 

Tax Modification of Limitation on Business Interest 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law increases the amount of interest expenses 

businesses can deduct for tax years 2019 and 2020 from 30% to 50%.  Businesses may also elect 

to use 2019 income for taxable years beginning in 2020.  

 

Tax Modification for Qualified Improvement Property 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law allows businesses to immediately write off costs 

associated with improving facilities.  

 

Temporary Exception from Excise Tax for Alcohol Used to Produce Hand Sanitizer 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law waives the federal excise tax on any distilled 

spirits used for or contained in hand sanitizer that is produced and distributed in a manner 

consistent with guidance issued by the Food and Drug Administration and is effective for 

calendar year 2020.  This provision applies to distilled spirits removed after December 31, 2019.  

 

Louisiana Economic Development (LED) Louisiana Loan Portfolio Guaranty Program 

(LPGP) 

The Louisiana Loan Portfolio Guaranty Program is a partnership of Louisiana Economic 

Development (LED), which will provide a loan guaranty fund; the Louisiana Bankers 

Association (LBA), whose participating members will offer the loans; and the Louisiana Public 

Facilities Authority (LPFA), which will administer the program. 

 

The purpose of the LPGP is to provide loans to Louisiana small businesses in response to 

COVID-19.  At this time, LED recognizes small business needs are immediate, and if there isn’t 

a timely response, the State risks losing a foundational element of its economy.  In collaboration 

with the LBA and LPFA, LED has worked with the banking community to provide access to 

capital to small companies that may experience (have experienced) a sudden drop in revenues 

due to lost business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.  The State through LED is guaranteeing 

a portion of each participating bank’s loans.  
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Who’s Eligible: 

Any small businesses with fewer than 100 employees. 

 

Ineligible entities: 

Ineligible entities are churches, religious and non-profit organizations, and businesses 

primarily engaged in gaming, real estate developers, pawn shops, pay-day loans, lending and 

investment concerns, or speculative activities.  

  

Loan Terms: 

Up to $100,000; maximum interest rate of 3.5%; loan term up to 5 years. 

First six months NO interest, and NO payments due during first six months of the loan. 

  

How to Apply: 

Apply directly to one of the participating banks. (See link below for more information.) 

  

Suggested Uses of Loan Funds: 

Maintain employee payroll and continuance of operations for an 8-week period at payroll 

levels at the time of applying for the loan.  

(If operational, the business must comply with Governor Edwards’ Stay at Home and social 

distancing policies.) 

  

Deadline to Apply: 

April 30, 2020 

  

Questions and More Information: 

LEDSmallBizLoans@la.gov  

https://www.opportunitylouisiana.com/covid19/led-loan-guaranty-program?v=2  

 

Federal Reserve’s Main Street Lending Program 

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law H.R. 748, the “Coronavirus Aid Relief and 

Economic Security Act (CARES Act).  The law authorizes the Federal Reserve System to 

establish a loan program to support small and mid-sized businesses that were in good financial 

standing before the crisis.   

 

The program offers 4-year loans to companies employing up to 10,000 workers or with revenues 

of less than $2.5 billion.   Principal and interest payments will be deferred for one year.  

 

Eligible banks may originate new Main Street loans or use Main Street loans to increase the size 

of existing loans to businesses.  Banks will retain a 5 percent share, selling the remaining 95 

percent to the Main Street facility, which will purchase up to $600 billion of loans.   

 

Firms seeking Main Street loans must commit to make reasonable efforts to maintain payroll and 

retain workers.  Borrowers must also follow compensation, stock repurchase, and dividend 

restrictions that apply to direct loan programs under the CARES Act.  Firms that have taken 

advantage of the PPP may also take out Main Street loans. 

 

mailto:LEDSmallBizLoans@la.gov
https://www.opportunitylouisiana.com/covid19/led-loan-guaranty-program?v=2
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The Federal Reserve and the Treasury recognize that businesses vary widely in their financing 

needs, particularly at this time, and, as the program is being finalized, will continue to seek input 

from lenders, borrowers, and other stakeholders to make sure the program supports the economy 

as effectively and efficiently as possible while also safeguarding taxpayer funds. Comments may 

be sent to the feedback form until April 16. 

 Main Street New Loan Facility (MSNLF): Term Sheet (April 9, 2020) (PDF) 

 Main Street Expanded Loan Facility (MSELF): Term Sheet (April 9, 2020) (PDF) 

  

http://www.federalreserve.gov/apps/contactus/feedback.aspx?refurl=/main/
https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/pressreleases/files/monetary20200409a7.pdf
https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/pressreleases/files/monetary20200409a4.pdf
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Public Assistance for Governmental and Non-Profit Entities 

 

Parishes Seeking Federal And State Assistance 

 To qualify for a federal reimbursement from the declaration or assistance from the State, a 

Parish must their request through their Parish OEP and the system.   Additional information 

on WebEOC is at  http://gohsep.la.gov/RESPOND/REQUEST-RESOURCES/WEB-EOC  

and the PPDA process is available starting on Page 127 of GOHSEP’s Louisiana Elected 

Officials Emergency Management Manual available at  

http://gohsep.la.gov/Portals/0/Documents/Elected_Officials_Manual_2015.pdf   

 

 If a Parish is having trouble reaching their Regional Coordinator or SAL may contact Allison 

Hadley with GOHSEP at (225) 339-3798, (225) 718-1815, or allison.hadley@la.gov  

 

 Public Assistance provides a reimbursement from FEMA of 75% of the cost for debris 

removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of 

disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit 

(PNP) organizations.  The PA Program also encourages protection of these damaged 

facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during 

the recovery process. 

 

 Parish and Local Officials should work closely with their Parish Office of Emergency 

Preparedness and GOHSEP on all aspects of disaster response and recovery.  Failure to 

strictly follow and document the requirements for Public Assistance could prevent the 

Parish or municipality from being eligible for PA from FEMA. 
 

 As of April 7, 2020, the State has spent over $599 million on the disaster.  The threshold for 

90/10 federal/state split for Louisiana is $662 million.  Louisiana will likely reach this 

threshold before April 16. 
 

 GOHSEP has all of their publications to assist Public Assistance applicants available at 

http://gohsep.la.gov/RESOURCES/OVERVIEW/PUBLICATIONS.  The Regional 

Coordinator or State Applicant Liaison (SAL) at GOHSEP can answer question and help 

with submissions. 

 

http://gohsep.la.gov/RESPOND/REQUEST-RESOURCES/WEB-EOC
http://gohsep.la.gov/Portals/0/Documents/Elected_Officials_Manual_2015.pdf
mailto:allison.hadley@la.gov
http://gohsep.la.gov/RESOURCES/OVERVIEW/PUBLICATIONS
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Helpful Information and Resources 

 

Coping with Disaster and Mental Health Issues 

Keeping Calm through COVID Hotline connects individuals to trained, compassionate 

counselors who can offer support and who can direct individuals to mental health and substance 

abuse counseling services.  Trained counselors are available 24/7. All calls are confidential. 

Call 1-866-310-7977 24/7 

 

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) offers a Disaster 

Distress Helpline.  You can call 1-800-985-5990 or text TalkWithUs to 66746. 

 

The Crisis Counseling being offered through FEMA Individual Assistance is run by the 

Louisiana Department of Health’s Louisiana Spirit at 1-866-310-7977. 

 

FEMA offers advice on coping with a disaster at http://www.fema.gov/coping-disaster.  

 

Additional individuals coping with substance abuse or mental health issues in a disaster can find 

resource at https://www.disasterassistance.gov/get-assistance/forms-of-assistance/4506  

 

Louisiana Department of Education 

The Louisiana Department of Education has a website devoted to the impact of the coronavirus 

on schools at https://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/covid-19. 

 

http://www.fema.gov/coping-disaster
https://www.disasterassistance.gov/get-assistance/forms-of-assistance/4506
https://www.louisianabelieves.com/resources/covid-19
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Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles  

They are encouraging residents to check office closures and service limitations before visiting 

offices at https://offices.omv.la.gov/.  

  

Louisiana Department of Corrections 

Information on the impact of the virus on the prisons, paroles, and pardons is available at 

https://doc.louisiana.gov/2019-novel-coronavirus-information/.  

  

Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development 

They are updating their news section with the status of department services and tips on ways to 

help prevent the spread of COVID-19. http://wwwsp.dotd.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx.  

  

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality   

Information on the virus and its impacts on the operations of DEQ is available at 

https://www.deq.louisiana.gov/news/category/top-stories.  

 

Taxes 

 

Federal Income Taxes 

The Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service are providing special payment 

relief to individuals and businesses in response to the COVID-19 Outbreak.  

 

Tax Filing and Payment Deadlines Are Extended from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020. 

(See Details) 
 

The IRS urges taxpayers who are owed a refund to file as quickly as possible.  

 

The 2019 income tax filing and payment deadlines for all taxpayers who file and pay their 

Federal income taxes on April 15, 2020, are automatically extended until July 15, 2020. This 

relief applies to all individual returns, trusts, and corporations. This relief is automatic, 

taxpayers do not need to file any additional forms or call the IRS to qualify. 

 

This relief also includes estimated tax payments for tax year 2020 that are due on April 15, 

2020. 

 

Penalties and interest will begin to accrue on any remaining unpaid balances as of July 16, 

2020. You will automatically avoid interest and penalties on the taxes paid by July 15. 

 

Individual taxpayers who need additional time to file beyond the July 15 deadline can request 

a filing extension by filing Form 4868 through their tax professional, tax software or using 

the Free File link on IRS.gov. Businesses who need additional time must file Form 7004. 

 

The IRS has established a special Coronavirus Tax Relief page on our website. It is focused 

on steps to help taxpayers, businesses and others affected by the coronavirus. The page will 

be updated as new information is available. 

 

https://offices.omv.la.gov/
https://doc.louisiana.gov/2019-novel-coronavirus-information/
http://wwwsp.dotd.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.deq.louisiana.gov/news/category/top-stories
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f4868.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f7004.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus
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Additional information on the payment extension is available at 

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/payment-deadline-extended-to-july-15-2020.  For those with 

additional questions, they may visit www.irs.gov or call the following:   

 

Individuals 

800-829-1040 

7 a.m. to 7 p.m. local time 

 

Businesses 

800-829-4933 

7 a.m. to 7 p.m. local time 

 

Non-profit taxes 

877-829-5500 

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. local time 

 

State Income Taxes 

On March 23, 2020, the Louisiana Department of Revenue announced that the state was 

extending the filing deadlines for state taxes to July 15, 2020.  The extension applies to 

individual, corporation, fiduciary and partnership income tax returns and payments. 

  

Income Tax 

Type 
Tax Return Due Date 

Extended 

Due Date 

Partnership  

IT-565 - 2019 Partnership Return of Income 

R-6922 - 2019 Composite Partnership Tax 

Return 

April 15, 2020 

May 15, 2020 

July 15, 

2020 

Individual  

IT-540 - 2019 LA Resident Income Tax Return 

IT-540B - 2019 LA Nonresident and Part-

Year Resident Income Tax Return 

R-1035 - LA Consumer Use Tax Return 

May 15, 2020 
July 15, 

2020 

Fiduciary  IT-541 - 2019 Fiduciary Income Tax Return May 15, 2020 
July 15, 

2020 

Corporation 
CIFT-620 - 2019 Corporation Income and 

2020 Franchise Tax 
May 15, 2020 

July 15, 

2020 

 

Due to a statewide stay-at-home order issued by Gov. John Bel Edwards, LDR has suspended 

in-person customer service to help slow the spread of COVID-19. During this public health 

emergency, LDR recommends all taxpayers take advantage of the online customer service 

options available on the department’s website, including Louisiana File Online, the state’s 

free tax filing portal for individual taxpayers.  

 

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/payment-deadline-extended-to-july-15-2020
http://www.irs.gov/
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/NewsAndPublications/NewsReleaseDetails/11482
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/NewsAndPublications/NewsReleaseDetails/11482
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For more information, read Revenue Information Bulletin 20-009: Income and Franchise Tax 

Returns and Other Matters Related to COVID-19. 

 

Individuals 

Taxpayers can file their state individual income tax returns, make payments and check their 

refund status through Louisiana File Online, the state’s free web portal for individual filers, 

at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.   

 

Taxpayers who have questions and cannot get through on the phone can submit email 

inquiries through the Contact page of the LDR website. 

 

Businesses 

Businesses can pay all state business taxes and file returns for state sales, tobacco, 

withholding and several other state tax types, request corporate income filing extensions and 

apply for payment plans through the Louisiana Taxpayer Access Point (LaTAP) at 

www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LaTAP. 

 

Businesses can also submit state, parish and municipal sales tax returns and payments 

through the Parish E-File portal at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/parishe-file. 

 

Tax Practitioners 

Tax professionals can submit email inquiries through the Contact page of the LDR website 

on a variety of topics including corporate, individual and sales taxes. 

 

State Unemployment Taxes 

On March 24, 2020, the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) announced today that the 

deadline for first quarter 2020 wage and tax reports will be deferred to June 30, 2020.  

The LWC previously announced that it was granting Louisiana employers a temporary 

deferral from paying their first quarter 2020 unemployment taxes until June 30. The latest 

deferral now makes both the wage and tax reports and the 1Q 2020 unemployment tax 

payment due at the same time, rather than having an earlier deadline for wage and tax report 

submissions. 

 

  

http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/RIB%2020-009%20Income%20and%20Franchise%20Tax%20Extensions%20and%20Other%20Matters%20Related%20to%20COVID-19.pdf
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/RIB%2020-009%20Income%20and%20Franchise%20Tax%20Extensions%20and%20Other%20Matters%20Related%20to%20COVID-19.pdf
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LaTAP
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/parishe-file
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Report Fraud 

 FEMA Fraud Line – (866) 720-5721 

 

 Louisiana Legislative Auditor 

Phone: 1-844-503-7283 

Online: https://www.lla.la.gov/report-fraud/index.shtml 

 

Legal Assistance 

 Disaster Legal Services (DLS) – Only Available if FEMA IA is Available 

This program provides free legal help to low-income disaster survivors who aren’t able to 

get adequate legal services to help with problems after a disaster.  FEMA provides this 

service through an agreement with the Young Lawyers Division of the American Bar 

Association.  Their help includes counseling and advice, referral to relevant legal 

services, and legal representation in cases that don’t generate a fee.  Cases that may have 

a fee are turned over to the local lawyer referral service. 

 

DLS can help with things like: 

o Insurance claims for medical bills, loss of property, loss of life. 

o New wills, powers of attorney, and other legal papers lost during the disaster. 

o Home-repair contracts and contractors. 

o Problems with landlords. 

 

You can be referred to DLS by calling: 

o 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) 

o TTY 1-800-462-7585 

o 711 and VRS 1-800-621-3362 

 

 

 Paid Legal Services 

Louisiana Bar Association and its local chapters offer Lawyer Referral Services. 

 Baton Rouge Area: (225) 344-9926 

Lafayette Area: www.lafayettebar.org 

Lake Charles Area: (337)436-2914  

New Orleans Area: (504) 561-8828 
 

 

 

 Free (Pro Bono) Legal Services 

Alexandria  

Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project, Inc. 

3600 Jackson Street 

Ste. 126 

Alexandria, LA 71301 

Phone: (318) 449-9778 

Fax: 318-449-5515 

Legal Services of Central Louisiana 

628 Murray Street 

Alexandria, LA 71301 

Phone: (318) 443-7281 

Phone: (800) 256-4343 

Web: http://www.la-law.org  

  

https://www.lla.la.gov/report-fraud/index.shtml
http://www.lafayettebar.org/
http://www.la-law.org/
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Baton Rouge  

Baton Rouge Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project 

544 Main Street  

Baton Rouge, LA 70801 

Phone: 225-344-4803  

Fax: 225-344-4805  

Web: http://www.brba.org 

Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic 

Violence 

P.O. Box 77308 

Baton Rouge, LA 70879 

Phone: (225) 752-1296 

Fax: (225) 751-8927 

Web: http://www.lcadv.org 

 

Baton Rouge Covington 
Southeast Louisiana Legal Services 

715 St. Ferdinand St. 

Baton Rouge, LA 70802 

Toll Free: (855) 512-3980 

Local: (225) 448-0080 

Fax: (225) 383-1197 

Intake Line: (225) 448-0331 

Web: http://www.slls.org 

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services  

423 North Florida Blvd. 

Covington, LA 70433 

Phone: (985) 893-0076 

Phone: (800) 891-0076 

Web: http://www.slls.org 

  

Franklin Hammond 
Acadiana Legal Service Corporation 

P. O. Box 4823 

Franklin, LA 70502 

Phone: (337) 237-4320 

Phone: (800) 256-1175 

Web: http://www.la-law.org 

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services 

1200 Derek Drive, Suite 100 

Hammond, LA 70404 

Phone: (985) 345-2130 

Phone: (800) 349-0886 

Web: http://www.slls.org 

  

Lafayette  

Acadiana Legal Services Corporation 

1020 Surrey Street 

Lafayette, LA 70501 

Phone: 337-237-4320 

Phone: (800) 256-1175 

Web: http://www.la-law.org 

Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers 
2607 Johnston Street 

Lafayette, LA 70503 

Phone: (337) 237-4700 

Fax: (333) 237-0970 

Web: http://www.lafayettebar.org/Lafayette-

Volunteer-Lawyers.html 

  

Lake Charles  

Southwest Louisiana Law Center 

1011 Lakeshore Drive Magnolia Bldg., Suite 

402 

Lake Charles, LA 70601 

Phone: (337) 436-3308 

Phone: (800) 256-1955 

$50 consultation fee and attorney discusses 

financials with the client 

 

http://www.brba.org/
http://www.lcadv.org/
http://www.slls.org/
http://www.slls.org/
http://www.la-law.org/
http://www.slls.org/
http://www.la-law.org/
http://www.lafayettebar.org/Lafayette-Volunteer-Lawyers.html
http://www.lafayettebar.org/Lafayette-Volunteer-Lawyers.html
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Miscellaneous 

 

U.S. Postal Service (USPS) Change of Address 

There are two ways you can change your address: 

1. Visit the Official USPS Change of Address page. 

You must: 

 Confirm your identity with a valid credit or debit card. A small charge will be 

added to your account. 

 Have a valid email address. 

     

2. Fill out and submit PS Form 3575, available at any U.S. Post Office. 

You may then: 

 Take or mail the form to any U.S. Post Office. 

 Give it to any Postal Mail Carrier. 

 

Contracting Opportunities 

Contractors should contact the applicable Federal, State, Parish, or Local Government as well as 

the applicable Non-Profit in need of the goods or services they are offering.  Federal and State 

Contracting and Public Bidding laws may apply.  Red Cross has a Supplier Management 

webpage on contracting with the at http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-

vendor  
 

Federal Contracts (General) 

Anyone interested in open federal government contract opportunities should go to 

http://www.fedbizopps.gov.  You must already be registered in the Central Contractor 

Registry (CCR) at www.ccr.gov.   After completing the required elements, go to the Disaster 

Response page (see “Optional Information” on the left had side of the page).   

 

CCR Customer Service Contact Information 

Phone: 1-888-227-2423  

Email: ccr@bpn.gov  

Hours of Operation are 9 - 5 (EST) Monday - Friday.  Voice mail messages will be taken 

if all lines are busy and all calls will be returned. 

 

Federal Disaster contracts are primarily coordinated by the SBA and handled by 

procurement employees from various federal agencies based on availability.  They 

primarily use previously identified contractors with proven records with government 

contracts.  Depending on the needs of the federal government, work may go out to 

competition.  See https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/disaster_contracting.pdf 

 

FEMA’s general contracting site is at http://femacontracts.com/.  All vendors interested 

in doing business with FEMA should send an e-mail to FEMA-Industry@dhs.gov.  

 

 

 

http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-vendor
http://www.redcross.org/contact-us/becoming-a-supplier-or-vendor
http://www.fedbizopps.gov/
http://www.ccr.gov/
mailto:ccr@bpn.gov
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/disaster_contracting.pdf
http://femacontracts.com/
mailto:FEMA-Industry@dhs.gov
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Companies seeking to Import or Manufacture Medical Products to Aid the U.S. 

Response to COVID-19   

If a constituent company would like to import or produce medical products to help with 

the COVID-19 response, please send these inquiries to FEMA 

at  covidsupplies@fema.dhs.gov.  Please include as many details as possible about the 

request (e.g., manufacturer name, address, product, and model number) and contact 

information for the company, either an agent in the U.S. or the company itself.  

 

If companies have medical supplies or equipment to donate, please email FEMA’s 

National Business Emergency Operations Center at nbeoc@fema.dhs.gov. For additional 

information, see https://www.fema.gov/coronavirus/how-to-help. 

 

Vaccines and other biological product candidates 

Biological product sponsors, including vaccine developers, wishing to develop vaccines 

can email industry.biologics@fda.hhs.gov or call 1-800-835-4709 for further 

information. 
  

Therapeutics and other drug product candidates 

Sponsors wishing to develop therapeutics are encouraged to submit information and 

questions via the Pre-IND Consultation program. See https://www.fda.gov/emergency-

preparedness-and-response/mcm-issues/covid-19-therapeutics-general-information-

interested-stakeholders or call 301-796-1500 for additional information on this program.  
  

Clinical Trials 

Sponsors who have questions regarding the conduct of clinical trials impacted by 

COVID-19 should contact clinicaltrialconduct-COVID19@fda.hhs.gov 

 

State Disaster Contracts 

GOHSEP has a list of its contracting opportunities listed at 

http://gohsep.la.gov/RESOURCES/EMERGENCY-EVENT-PROCUREMENT  

 

Due to poor modeling projections, the state ordered over 13,000 ventilators and has now 

begun cancelling orders for low and mid-level ventilators. 

 

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and Medical Supplies 

President Donald Trump has invoked the Defense Production Act to get needed medical supplies 

on the front lines of the coronavirus outbreak and the private sector mobilized against it.  His 

administration is also leveraging the ability to buy American during government contracting and 

procurement to increase the demand and supply of PPE and medical supplies.  In the U.S., 

manufacturers of various industrial masks and other producers are retooling their operations to 

begin the production of health care mask.  In addition, China has reopened many of their PPE 

and medical supply plants and lifted their current ban on their exports.  It is expected that when 

all of this is online, the shortages will be mostly eliminated.  In addition, most mining and 

industrial masks meet standards just below those of hospital masks and would be suitable for 

most people.  

 

mailto:covidsupplies@fema.dhs.gov
mailto:nbeoc@fema.dhs.gov
https://www.fema.gov/coronavirus/how-to-help
mailto:industry.biologics@fda.hhs.gov
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https://www.fda.gov/emergency-preparedness-and-response/mcm-issues/covid-19-therapeutics-general-information-interested-stakeholders
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Drug Shortages 

If a healthcare provider has questions or concerns about a drug shortage, related or unrelated 

to COVID-19, they should contact the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), 

Division of Drug Information (DDI) at 855-543-3784, 301-796-3400, or 

druginfo@fda.hhs.gov. Also, FDA's Drug Shortage web page has information related to 

current shortages.   

 

Private Medical Professionals 

The Louisiana Department of Health and GOHSEP have provided the following updated 

guidance for requesting PPE and medical supplies.  This supplements previous directions to 

contact the Parish EOP (Emergency Operations Center) or use the app, ReadyOps and these 

avenues should be stopped immediately. This guidance is for NON-government entities. 

 

1. To the extent possible, please continue to use the vendor/supply chain you would normally 

to request such supplies. 

 

2. We are keeping a list of unique providers (as they become made known to us) listed 

below. You may be able to receive supplies more quickly by purchasing from them directly. 

 

3. You can call the State Supply Hotline at 225-325-5900 to be put on our list as supplies 

become available. This phone line is available seven days a week from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

CST. 

 

Additionally, this is not a guarantee that you will receive PPE – LDH is prioritizing supplies 

that go out based on need. You may receive some of your request in an effort to assist as best 

we can. We understand there are shortages of supplies everywhere across the state and the 

U.S., so please be patient as we look to distribute our limited resources the best way we can. 

 

As a last resort, they call the FDA’s toll-free line at 1-888-463-6332 (1-888-INFO-FDA), then 

choose option (*). The line is available 24 hours a day to help address difficulties obtaining 

supplies. 

 

24/7 Hotline for Diagnostics 

If a developer, lab, manufacturer or health care provider has questions about testing or is 

experiencing spot shortages of testing, personal protective equipment, or other supplies, they 

should call our toll-free line at 1-888-463-6332 (1-888-INFO-FDA), then choose option (*). 

The line is available 24 hours a day to help address difficulties obtaining supplies for 

collecting patient samples for COVID-19 testing, including swabs, media needed for 

transport, and conservation of the samples – among other things. Please note, however, that 

FDA does not control the production volume or distribution of medical devices. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:druginfo@fda.hhs.gov
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Louisiana Department of Health Identified Suppliers 

The following companies have been identified as PPE suppliers: 

 

Joe Wilson, Independent vendor 

Email: joe@marsbio.vc 

Phone 615-218-2489 

Works with supplier: Pipeline Medical 

Supplies 

Available PPE: N95, SWABS, misc. 

Equitas Life Technologies 

Rick Mladek 

Email: rmladek@equitaslifetech.com  

Phone 330-297-8938 

Available PPE: N95 

 

K & J Supplies 

Craig Fowler 

3314 W. Admiral Doyle Drive 

New Iberia, LA 70560 

Phone 337-519-7723 

Phone 337-364-4663 

Available PPE: gowns, must provide 

specs at time of order placement. 

 

Larry Jackson 

Checkmate Systems, LLC 

201 St Charles Avenue 

Suite 2500 

New Orleans, LA 70170 

Phone 504-259-0438 

Available PPE: N95 mask, gloves, gowns, 

hand sanitizer 

 

Lewis McMillan 

Director, Government Sales (state and 

local) 

Thomas Scientific, LLC 

Phone: 484-280-8133 

Email: lewis.mcmillan@thomassci.com  

Available PPE: Viral testing medium 

 

American Bio Medica 

Phone 518-758-8158 

Phone 800-227-1243 

Available PPE: Covid 19 test on pre-order 

 

Louisiana Board of Drug and Device 

Distributors 

12091 Bricksome Avenue 

Suite B 

Baton Rouge, LA 70816 

Phone 225-295-8567 

Phone 225-678-0218 

www.drugboard.la.gov  

Available PPE: N95 mask 

 

3M 

www.3m.com  

Available PPE: gloves, gowns, N95, suits, 

mask 

 

Grainger 

Grainger.com 

Phone 225-315-0899 

Available PPE: gloves, gowns, mask, 

suits 

 

 

 

 

 

Town and Country Nursing Home 

Phone 318-377-5148, ext. 511 

Available PPE: 9 extra covidian brand puritan 

bennett 540 ventilators 

 

mailto:joe@marsbio.vc
mailto:rmladek@equitaslifetech.com
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http://www.drugboard.la.gov/
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Zeem Consulting 

Zac Jiwa 

Phone 512-222-7922 

Email: zac@zeemconsulting.com  

Available PPE: N95 mask 

 

 

 

(continued) 

ProSource Specialties 

Laura Velador 

P.O. Box 271463 

Flower Mound, TX 75027 

Phone 877-222-1870 

Website: psimprint.com 

Email: laura@prosourcespecialties.com  

Available PPE: N95 mask, other mask, hand 

sanitizer, gloves 

Ballard Hospitality 

Scott Ballard 

180 New Camellia Blvd 

Suite 100 

Covington, LA 70433 

Phone 985-792-5776, ext. 113 

Website: www.ballardbrands.com  

Available PPE: 3M N95 mask, Covid 

19 testing kits 

 

 

White House Identified Swab 

Providers 

 

Copan Diagnostics 

26055 Jefferson Avenue Murrieta, CA 

92562 

800-216-4016 

  

 

 

Becton, Dickinson and Company 

1 Becton Drive  

Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417-1880  

Phone: 201.847.6800 

 

Thermo Fisher Scientific 

168 Third Avenue | Waltham, MA 

02451 

781-622-1000 

800-678-5599 

 

Princeton BioMeditech Corporation 

P.O. Box 7139, Princeton, New Jersey 08543-

7139 U.S.A.  

Tel: (732) 274-1000 

4242 U.S. Route 1, Monmouth Junction, New 

Jersey 08852-1905 U.S.A.  

Fax: (732) 274-1010 

Internet E-mail: info@pbmc.com  

World Wide Web: 

https://protect2.fireeye.com/url?k=8ce4f646-

d0b0ef3a-8ce4c779-0cc47adc5fa2-

6d424e887a2fb0e6&u=http://www.pbmc.com/  

 

Government Medical Professionals 

Government owned or affiliated medical facilities should go through their agency or the 

Parish Office of Emergency and Preparedness (OEP) to enter their requests in the WebEOC 

system used by the Governor’s Office for Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness 

mailto:zac@zeemconsulting.com
file:///C:/Users/me97711/Desktop/psimprint.com
mailto:laura@prosourcespecialties.com
http://www.ballardbrands.com/
mailto:info@pbmc.com
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https://protect2.fireeye.com/url?k=8ce4f646-d0b0ef3a-8ce4c779-0cc47adc5fa2-6d424e887a2fb0e6&u=http://www.pbmc.com/
https://protect2.fireeye.com/url?k=8ce4f646-d0b0ef3a-8ce4c779-0cc47adc5fa2-6d424e887a2fb0e6&u=http://www.pbmc.com/
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(GOHSEP) to track requests and manage FEMA Public Assistance funding.  A current list of 

OEPs is available at https://gohsep.la.gov/ABOUT/PARISHPA.  

 

Animal Drugs and Animal Food Issues 

If a constituent has questions or concerns related to COVID-19 and its impact on products 

regulated by FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine, they may contact AskCVM@fda.hhs.gov, 

and their inquiry will be routed to the appropriate subject matter expert for response. A list of 

known animal drug shortages is kept by FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine. 

  

FDA Inspections 

If a State agency has questions regarding the postponement of inspections under an agreement or 

contract with the FDA, they should contact OPFeedback@fda.hhs.gov or reach out to their 

specific project manager. In the meantime, the FDA encourage states currently under contract to 

please submit their invoices to ensure payment for work completed.   

  

https://gohsep.la.gov/ABOUT/PARISHPA
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Governor’s Stay Home Order 

On March 22, 2020, the Governor issued a “Stay Home” order that became effective 5 p.m. on 

March 23, 2020.  The order directs all Louisiana residents to shelter at home and limit 

movements outside of their homes beyond essential needs. The governor's official order can be 

found on his online at https://gov.louisiana.gov/assets/Proclamations/2020/JBE-33-2020.pdf.  

 

On April 2, 2020, the Governor renewed the order until on April 30, 2020.  The order was 

continued until May 15.  See below questions and answers for more information.   

 

On May 11, 2020, the Governor announced that the State will start Stage 1 reopening on May 15.  

Information on reopening is available at https://www.whitehouse.gov/openingamerica/.   

 

On June 1, 2020, the Governor announced that the State will start Stage 2 reopening on June 6. 

 

Businesses seeking guidance on reopening may sign up for emails at https://opensafely.la.gov/.  

 

Starting June 6, the following conditions apply: 

Businesses that will be able to open at 50 percent occupancy include: 

 Restaurants, cafes and coffee shops 

 Shopping malls (including food courts, following restaurant guidance) 

 Gyms and fitness centers 

 Barber and beauty shops and nail salons 

 Movie theaters 

 Racetracks (not open to spectators) 

 Museums (including children’s museums), zoos, aquariums (no tactile exhibits) 

 Bars and breweries with LDH food permits 

 Massage establishments, spas, and tattoo establishments (under strict guidance from 

LDH), esthetician services (under strict guidance from the Cosmetology Board) 

 Pool halls, bowling alleys and skating rinks (children must be accompanied by an adult) 

 Event Centers and wedding venues 

 Outdoor playgrounds and play centers (children must be accompanied by an adult) 

Casinos and video poker establishments may open at 50 percent occupancy, but limited to 75 

percent of their gaming positions, with spacing to allow for social distancing and with 

enhanced sanitation. Plans must be submitted to the Gaming Control Board which will issue 

guidance to these facilities. 

Bars and breweries that do not have LDH food permits will be able to open with strict social 

distancing requirements and patrons seated at 25 percent occupancy. 

Arcades and trampoline parks may open under approved plans by the State Fire Marshal, with 

minors accompanied by parents. 

https://gov.louisiana.gov/assets/Proclamations/2020/JBE-33-2020.pdf
https://www.whitehouse.gov/openingamerica/
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Summer camps were allowed to open with restrictions in Phase One, and additional guidance 

will be issued. Sleep-away camps are not allowed in Phase Two. 

The following businesses remain closed: carnivals, amusement parks, water parks, fairs, 

contact sports, children’s indoor play centers, theme parks, concert and music halls, and other 

similar businesses. Live entertainment is not permitted inside any building or indoor function. 

 


