September 11, 2020

Sens. Cassidy, Coons, & Reps. Price, Matsui announce resolution to recognize 9/11 as a national day of service

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA) and Chris Coons (D-DE) and U.S. Representatives David Price (D-NC) and Doris Matsui (D-CA), all members of the National Service Congressional Caucus, today announced a resolution recognizing September 11 as a national day of service and encouraging the American public to engage in a charitable service of their choosing on or around 9/11.

In 2009 following calls by families of those killed in the attacks of September 11, 2001, Congress established that date as a National Day of Service and Remembrance in tribute to the 9/11 victims, first responders, recovery workers, volunteers, and members of the U.S. military who rose in service in defense of our nation. This year, as co-chairs of the National Service Congressional Caucus, Sens. Coons and Cassidy and Reps. Price and Matsui call on their colleagues in the Senate and House of Representatives to reaffirm that commitment and honor the heroes who rose to service in response to attacks in New York City, outside Washington, D.C. in northern Virginia, and near Shanksville, Pennsylvania. 

“September 11, 2001, forever changed our country. Amidst the death, destruction and anger, Americans also responded by giving of themselves however they could to help in the aftermath. National service is patriotic. This resolution recognizes those who give back and encourages others to become more involved,” said Dr. Cassidy.

“Nineteen years ago, our country experienced an unthinkable tragedy that claimed the lives of nearly 3,000 people, including a dozen Delawareans,” said Senator Coons. “From the first responders who answered the call to serve on September 11 to our troops stationed overseas to all Americans working to respond to challenges in their communities, service is a light that unites us. I am proud to join my colleagues in establishing a national day of service. As a nation, we are always strongest when we work together, support our neighbors, and stand as one.”

 “Today, millions of Americans are reflecting on the 19th anniversary of the 9-11 terrorist attacks. This year’s anniversary comes during another especially difficult period in American history—the COVID-19 pandemic,”?said Congressman David Price. “Then and now, these events are testing our nation and, just like after September 11th, the only way through this hardship is together.  The resilience of the American people is often best embodied by our acts of service—volunteering in our communities and helping those in need.  As we take time to remember those who lost their lives in the 9-11 terrorist attacks, I’m proud to join my colleagues by introducing this resolution affirming September 11th as a national day of service and remembrance.” 

“In the face of the tragic events and heartbreak of 9/11, first responders, service members, and communities united together to heal a wounded nation,” said Congresswoman Matsui. “While we honor those who lost their lives nineteen years ago, we also renew our commitment to serving our great nation – to build bridges between our communities and unite us all as Americans. As we stand in this new time of crisis, this resolution serves as a reminder of our nation’s resiliency when we stand together.”

“Americans in every corner of our country are committed to the promise to ‘Never Forget’ the attacks on our nation 19 years ago and, most important, the loss of life and injury to countless of our family members, friends and colleagues,” said Jay S. Winuk, whose younger brother Glenn J. Winuk, an attorney and volunteer firefighter/EMT, died in the line of duty when the South Tower collapsed.  Winuk is the co-founder of 9/11 Day, the nation’s largest annual day of charitable engagement.  “This resolution rightly and powerfully honors those directly affected by the events of 9/11 and calls on the nation to come together in tribute and service to strengthen our bonds as Americans, especially meaningful in these challenging times.”

In the Senate, the resolution was also cosponsored by Senators Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Duckworth (D-Ill.), Angus King (D-Maine), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Shelley Capito (R-W.V.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jackie Rosen (D-Nev.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), and Patty Murray (D-Wash.).

In the House, the resolution was also cosponsored by Representatives Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Ed Case (D-Hawaii), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), Michael San Nicolas (D-Guam), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Mary Gay Scanlon (D-Pa.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.) Greg Steube (R-Fla.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), Seth Moulton (D-Mass.), Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.), Michael Waltz (R-Fla.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.), Hank Johnson (D-Ga.), Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.), and Kathy Castor (D-Fla.).

The text of the resolution can be found here.