February 18, 2022

Senate Sends Message of Support for Ukraine Against Russian Aggression with Cassidy-Supported Resolution

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA) applauded the U.S. Senate passage of a bipartisan resolution to support Ukraine in the face of increased Russian aggression. The resolution sends a bipartisan message of fierce support for the United States’ Ukrainian ally. The resolution passed by a voice vote with overwhelmingly support late Thursday. Cassidy introduced the resolution with Senators Rob Portman (R-OH) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH). 

“We stand with all freedom seeking people and those seeking to preserve freedom,” said Dr. Cassidy. “This resolution is a show of that united American support behind those who wish to preserve freedom in Ukraine.”

“By overwhelmingly voting in favor of this resolution, today the Senate spoke with one voice: Democrats and Republicans are united and committed to supporting our Ukrainian partners against the Kremlin’s escalating violence and aggression. Putin will make a gross miscalculation and suffer the full weight of the U.S. Congress if he decides to further invade Ukraine,” said Senator Shaheen. “As we face the greatest national security threat from Russia since the Cold War, the U.S. is more aligned than ever with our European allies. Together, we will provide military assistance to Ukraine and impose devastating punitive measures should Putin forgo diplomacy for a path to war. Our resolution sends an unmistakable message to both Kyiv and Moscow: the United States stands by our Ukrainian partners, today and tomorrow.” 

“By acting in bipartisan fashion today, the United States Senate sent a strong message to Russia and the world that we stand with Ukraine. This resolution denounces the buildup of Russian troops at Ukraine’s border and reaffirms our bipartisan commitment to hold Russia accountable if they invade our ally Ukraine,” said Senator Portman. “Today’s action reaffirms our commitment to our allies in Eastern Europe as Russia continues its malign influence and goal of rebuilding the old Soviet empire.”

The resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jim Risch (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), John Cornyn (R-TX), Chris Coons (D-DE), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), John Hoeven (R-ND), Patty Murray (D-WA), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), John Kennedy (R-LA), Angus King (I-ME), Marco Rubio (R-FL) Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Dan Sullivan (R-AK) and Susan Collins (R-ME).