January 14, 2019

Cassidy, Colleagues Introduce Legislation to Permanently End Taxpayer Funding of Abortion

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), today joined 32 of his Senate colleagues in introducing the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion and Abortion Insurance Full Disclosure Act (S. 109), legislation establishing a permanent, government-wide prohibition of taxpayer funding for abortion. Similar policies, such as the Hyde Amendment, currently require annual passage and do not apply to Obamacare.

“Louisiana families should not be forced to give their hard-earned tax dollars to abortion businesses like Planned Parenthood,” said Dr. Cassidy. “This measure protects babies and taxpayers.”

In addition to establishing a government-wide ban on federal funding for abortion, the legislation would:

  • Prohibit funding for health benefits coverage that includes coverage of abortion with funds authorized or appropriated by Federal law;
  • Prohibit abortion in federal health facilities (such as DOD and VA hospitals) and ensure that no federal employee provides abortion services in the course of their employment;
  • Make permanent the provisions of the DC Hyde Amendment, or the Dornan Amendment, which clarifies that the federal provisions regarding abortion funding also apply to the government of the District of Columbia;
  • Ensure that elective abortion is not deductible for tax purposes by amending Section 213 of the Internal Revenue Code; and
  • Ensure that Affordable Care Act premium assistance subsidies provided in the form of refundable advanceable tax credits are not used to pay for health insurance plans that include abortion, except in cases of rape, incest, or the life of the mother.

The legislation also includes a provision requiring that all plans offered by Obamacare exchanges disclose whether a plan includes coverage of elective abortion procedures, as well as the abortion surcharge embedded into abortion-covering plans.

In addition to Cassidy, S. 109 was introduced by Senators Roger Wicker (R-MS), Pat Roberts (R-KS), James Lankford (R-OK), John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Mike Braun (R-IN), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), James Inhofe (R-OK), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), John Kennedy (R-LA), Mike Lee (R-UT), Jerry Moran (R-KS), David Perdue (R-GA), James Risch (R-ID), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Marco Rubio (R-FL), John Thune (R-SD), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Todd Young (R-IN), John Hoeven (R-ND), Tim Scott (R-SC), Rob Portman (R-OH), Ben Sasse (R-NE), John Cornyn (R-TX), and Ted Cruz (R-TX).