December 13, 2023

Cassidy, Kennedy Introduce Resolution Congratulating LSU Quarterback Jayden Daniels on Winning the 2023 Heisman Memorial Trophy

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA) and John Kennedy (R-LA) introduced a resolution congratulating Louisiana State University (LSU) quarterback Jayden Daniels on winning the 2023 Heisman Memorial Trophy. The honor follows Daniels’ record-breaking performance during the 2023-2024 season as well as his collegiate career, including becoming the only player in Football Bowl Subdivision history to achieve career totals over 12,000 passing yards and 3,000 rushing yards. Daniels becomes the third Tiger to win the award.

“Historic numbers deserve to be recognized. The committee rightfully bestowed Jayden Daniels with this year’s Heisman Trophy,” said Dr. Cassidy. “He will go down in history as one of the best to ever wear the Tiger uniform. A tremendous achievement for a tremendous player. Geaux Tigers!”

“As all LSU fans have witnessed over and over again, Jayden Daniels earned this Heisman Trophy with talent and grit. Louisianians will celebrate his legacy as a dual-threat quarterback for many years to come. Geaux Tigers!” said Senator Kennedy. 

The resolution also recognizes head coach Brian Kelly, offensive coordinator Mike Denbrock, quarterback coach Joe Sloan, and the entire LSU football team for their role and support in helping Daniels achieve his accomplishments. Additionally, it thanks the fans for their dedication to the sport.